Sign In
Skip Navigation Links.
Expand AboutAbout
Our People
Expand Quick LinksQuick Links
Expand MediaMedia
Advisory Board Committee
Prof.Qutayba Hamid Academic RankProfessor

Research Interests:

  • Pathogenesis of asthma and allergic inflammation Cytokines and chemokines in asthma and allergic inflammationTranscription factors in asthmaAirway remodeling in asthma and COPD Immunotherapy


Sept 2015 – Dean of Medicine , University of Sharjah October 2014 - Special Advisor, International Initiatives Faculty of Medicine, McGill University January 2010 - Associate Director, Recruitment and Career Development McGill University Health Centre Research Institute October 2008 - Director, Meakins-Christie Laboratories McGill University September 2005 - MUHC Strauss Chair in Respiratory Medicine McGill University Health Center January 2001- James McGill Professor of Medicine and Pathology McGill University June 1998- Professor of Medicine and Pathology McGill University (Full Professor with tenure since 1997) February 1999-2000 Director, Respiratory Axis McGill University Health Centre
2007-present: Member, ICRH Institute Advisory Board 2006-present: Fellow, American Academy of Allergy, Asthma and Immunology 2002-present: Fellow, Royal College of Physicians, Canada 1998-present: Member, New York Academy of Sciences 1998-present: Member, American Association for the Advancement of Science 1998-present: Fellow, Royal College of Pathologists, United Kingdom 1997-present: Member, American Thoracic Society, American Lung Association, New York 1997-present: Member, American Academy of Allergy, Asthma & Immunology Assoc. New York 1990-present: Member, Royal College of Physicians, London, United Kingdom
2014: Canadian Society of Clinical Investigation (CSCI) Distinguished Scientist Award, Canada 2013: Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada (FRS) 2011: CIHR-ICRH & CTS Distinguished Lecturer in Respiratory Sciences Award, Canada 2007: Burton Zweiman Lectureship, 2007 AAAAI meeting, San Diego, CA, USA 2005: MUHC Straus Chair in Respiratory Medicine 2005: FRSQ Chercheurs-Nationaux Award 2003: CSACI Award for Research in Immunology, Vancouver, Canada 2001: James McGill Professor, McGill University, Montreal, Quebec, Canada 2001: FRSQ Senior Chercheur-Boursier Award (FRSQ)
Back to list