Sign In

Medical Cluster

The Sharjah Medical Excellence Cluster (SMEC) exposes students to a wide variety of programs in the medical and health sciences field. It consists of the Colleges of Medicine, Dentistry, Pharmacy, and Health Sciences. SMEC is a unique 21st century model of multi professional medical education, research and service, having the health of the community at its center, introducing innovation in education and translating researches from the labs to the patient with its impact on health of the community at large.
The cluster started in 2005 by establishing the College of Medicine, College of Dentistry and College of Pharmacy.  The College of Health Sciences, which was established in 1999, moved to the new campus in 2006.
In 2009, the Clinical Training Center (CTC) and Sharjah Surgical Institute (SSI) were added to the cluster, followed in 2010 by the Sharjah Institute of Medical Research. In 2011, two major establishments joined the cluster, University Hospital Sharjah and University Dental Hospital.
In 2012 Medical Education Center - the University of Sharjah, a center of excellence in medical education joined the cluster to foster the culture of collaboration and scholarly thinking that lead to high-quality teaching and learning of health professionals at the University of Sharjah and to build the capacity of capable faculty members to fit their new role in transforming and scaling up of health professions education.
SMEC is supported by a network of strategic alliances with international leading organizations, universities, institutes, centers, and industrial partnerships such as the University Paris Diderot, INSERM, Institut Gustave Roussy  “France”, Baker IDI Heart and Diabetes Institute, Monash University, Adelaide University “Australia”,  The Royal College of Surgeons “England”, American Heart Association, Temple University, New Jersy University “USA”, World Health Organization, Mie University “Japan”, Johnson & Johnson Medical, and JULPHAR leading pharmaceutical Industries.

The Sharjah Medical Excellence Cluster consists of the following:
- College of Medicine
- College of Dental Medicine
- College of Pharmacy
- College of Health Sciences
- Sharjah Institute of Medical Research
- Sharjah University Clinical Training Center (CTC)
- Sharjah Surgical Institute (SSI)
- Sharjah University Laser Training and Research Center (SULTARC)
- University Hospital, Sharjah
- University Dental Hospital, Sharjah
- Medical Education Center

To view more about the Medical Campus, please click here