Sign In
  • A-
  • A
  • A+
  • ع
  • A-
  • A
  • A+
  • ع
List 'Banner Items' does not exist at site with URL ''.


​Mohamed H. Sayegh, MD - Biography

Dr. Mohamed H. Sayegh is currently the Raja N. Khuri Dean of the Faculty of Medicine and Vice President of Medical Affairs at the American University of Beirut. He was appointed in this position in 2009. He was a Professor of Medicine and Pediatrics at Harvard Medical School since 2003, and Director of the Schuster Family Transplantation Research Center at the Brigham and Women's Hospital and Boston Children's Hospital. In 2005, he was named the Warren E. Grupe and John P. Merrill Endowed Chair in Transplantation Medicine at Harvard Medical School.

Dr. Sayegh is a world leader in transplantation, renal medicine and transplantation immunobiology research. In his field, he has made substantial and landmark contributions. He has published over 200 original articles in addition to a large number of reviews, editorials and book chapters. He has also edited several books in nephrology and transplantation. 

Dr. Sayegh served as Council Member and President (2000 - 2001) of the American Society of Transplantation (AST). He served as the Chair of the Transplant Advisory Board of the American Society of Nephrology (ASN). He also served as the Chair of the AST Program, Education and Development Committees, as the Chair of the 2005 ASN Program Committee, and the Chair of the Program Committee of the 2006 World Transplant Congress and the 2007 World Congress of Nephrology. He served as co-chair of the Steering Committee of the NIH Immune Tolerance Network and member of the Executive Committee. He also served as Chair of the Steering Committee of the NIH consortium, Clinical Trials in Organ Transplantation (CTOT). 

Dr. Sayegh is an elected member of the ASCI, AAP and FRCP. He is also an outstanding mentor. He trained tens of investigators who are active leaders in renal and transplant programs around the world. In recognition of this, he was awarded the 2008 First Mentoring Award of the AST.

He is recipient of many highly distinguished and prestigious awards and honors including:
1983               Alpha Omega Alpha
1984               MD Diploma with Distinction (Honors)
1989               UPJOHN Young Investigator Award, American Society of Transplant Physicians
1991 - 1992   Ortho-Grant-In-Aid Young Investigator Award, American Society of Transplant Physicians
1996 - 1999   Clinician Scientist Award, National Kidney Foundation
1997               First Young Scientist Award, Wyeth-Ayerst-American Society of Transplant Physicians
2008               First Mentoring Award, American Society of Transplantation
2008               NKF's Shaul G. Massry Distinguished Lecture Award
2010               AST Basic Science Established Investigator Award (Professor Level)
2013               Gold Award, American University of Beirut Alumni Chapter
2014               Ben Qurrah Award, National Arab American Medical Association – Houston Chapter
2015               Fellow of the American Society of Transplantation

Dr. Sayegh also served as:
2001 - 2005   Associate Editor, Journal of American Society of Nephrology
2002 - 2009  Consulting Editor, Journal of Clinical Investigation
2005 - 2010  Section Editor, Journal of Immunology
2005 - 2011   Deputy Editor, Clinical Journal of the American Society of Nephrology

Dr. Sayegh is a strong international leader. He served as Chair of the Scientific Advisory Board and member of the Board of Trustees of the Harvard Dubai Foundation. He also serves on the International Advisory Board for the Hamad Bin Khalifa University and Qatar Foundation. In addition, he is a Board of Trustee member with the University of Sharjah.  Dr. Sayegh was elected into Arab Business' 2011 and 2012 Power 500 - World's Most Influential Arabs and was recently awarded the 2014 Ben Qurrah Award, National Arab American Medical Association – Houston Chapter.
As part of his return to Lebanon and the American University of Beirut as Raja N. Khuri Dean of the Faculty of Medicine and the Vice President for Medical Affairs in July of 2009, Dr. Sayegh envisioned and developed an ambitious new plan for AUB's Medical Center and healthcare in Lebanon and the region, known as the AUBMC 2020 Vision, adopted by the Board of Trustees in June 2010. The AUBMC 2020 Vision is propelling patient care, medical education and research to new levels of excellence unseen before in the Middle East region.  This strategic vision, with clear goals and implementation steps has generated a significant amount of local, regional and global support. The impact of the AUBMC 2020 Vision can be seen on the ground in many ways. Our successful model of recruitment and "reverse brain drain" has allowed us to recruit over 100 faculty members back to Lebanon since the summer of 2009 joining AUBMC from leading academic medical centers throughout the world to be part of this pioneering vision. This model was published in "Nature Middle East" to be used as a guide for other entities in the region. Philanthropists have also shown their trust and support in the vision through unprecedented donations. AUB recently received the largest donation in its 148 year history, $32 million, in support of the AUBMC 2020 Vision. The vision has also helped the Lebanese economy not only through the creation of jobs and donations, but also through catalyzing other market sectors such as construction, contracting, manufacturers, amongst others, with the development of the AUBMC 2020 Medical Complex and the new buildings that are being erected. AUBMC is leading the way through the establishment of leading Centers of Excellence (COEs) in areas that impact the people of our region the most with an integrated and multidisciplinary approach. The model of COEs has bread group practices, encouraging faculty to sub-specialize and work together in a complementary fashion.  This environment fosters cooperation, synergy, innovation, opportunities for additional faculty recruitment, advances in basic and clinical research, and comprehensive and specialized teaching, and training of the future leaders in medicine and health care.