Sign In


The First Sharjah International Conference on Particle Physics, Astrophysics and Cosmology (FISICPAC) will be held at the University of Sharjah (UoS), Sharjah, United Arab Emirates from November 11 to 13, 2018.

The conference is organized within the framework of the ongoing UoS-CERN-ICTP research collaborations. Its program addresses the interests of theorists, phenomenologists and experimentalists working within the realms of Particle Physics, Astrophysics and Cosmology.

The scientific program of the conference will include presentation of research findings by the participants via oral and poster sessions, in addition to series of overviews and plenary talks given by pioneering physicists, followed by an international training program for science and engineering students, organized by the Physics Without Frontiers ICTP program. The training will provide the participating students for the first time an intensive introduction to the related physics and detectors engineering design at the Large Hadron Collider at CERN and its experiments.

The preliminary Scientific program is now available.

Furthermore, the conference will provide a platform for the exchange of new ideas and experiences, to promote and establish a collaborative framework of researchers and academic partners along the research fields available at the University of Sharjah.

Topics discussed at the conference will cover the following research areas:

  • Particle Physics and its future.
  • Higgs Physics.
  • Direct and indirect Dark Matter Searches.
  • Cosmology.
  • String theory.
  • Dark Energy in the Universe.
  • Neutrino Physics.
  • Astronomy and measurements.
  • Astrophysics and Space Sciences.
  • Particle Detectors and Instrumentation.
  • Special topics in Applied Physics.

Plenary Speakers:

- Prof. Fernando Quevedo  (ICTP Director, Trieste, Italy)
- Prof. Karl Jakobs (ATLAS spokesperson,  University of Freiburg, Germany)
- Prof. John Ellis  (King’s College, London UK)
- Prof. Martin A. Barstow (Leicester University, UK)
- Prof. Patrick Fassnacht (ATLAS and CERN, Geneva, Switzerland)
- Prof. Bobby Acharaya (ICTP and King’s College, London UK)
- Prof. Marina Cobal (The National Coordinator of the ATLAS experiment,
   University of Udine, Italy)
- Prof. Salah Nasri  (United Arab Emirates University, UAEU, UAE)
- Prof. Andreas Eckart  (Physikalisches Institut, Universität zu Köln, Köln, Germany)
- Prof. Albert De Roeck (CERN, Geneva, Switzerland)
- Dr. Kate Shaw  (ICTP and CERN)