Sign In


​The Sharjah International Conference on Physics of Advanced Materials (SICPAM) will be held at the University of Sharjah (UoS), Sharjah, United Arab Emirates from  25-27 ​April, 2023.

Materials continue to be the key behind major technological breakthroughs for many decades. Their properties can be engineered and optimized to develop specific applications including energy conversion and storage, water treatment (purification and desalination), sensing and biomedical applications. This conference will focus on advanced materials that are being developed to address todays’ major challenges. It includes also computational methods which are emerging as very powerful tool for materials design and screening for diverse applications.

The program of the conference will include series of plenary talks given by wellknown and highly cited scientists from Europe, USA and Canada.
The conference scientific program will cover a wide range of advanced materials with a strong focus on their technological applications. The list of topics includes the following:
  • Perovskites for solar energy harvesting 
  • Advanced materials for energy storage 
  • Sensing applications and 3D Printed devices 
  • Nanoengineered materials and their applications 
  • Biomaterials and their applications
  • Materials for water treatment and desalination 
  • Materials Computation and Modelling 
  • Advanced techniques for materials investigation.

The preliminary Scientific program will be available in due time.

Furthermore, the conference will provide opportunities to exchange ideas and identify potential academic partners to establish collaborations with the University of Sharjah.

The SICPAM conference is endorsed by the American Physical Society (APS)
under the division of Condensed Matter Physics. SICPAM 2020 proceedings will be published in IOP conference series: Material Science and Engineering.

Plenary Speakers

  • Prof. Mohammad Khaja Nazeeruddin, Ecole Polytechnique Federale de Lausanne (EPFL), Lausanne, Switzerland.
  • Prof. Zahid Hussain, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory (LBNL), Berkeley, USA.
  • Prof. Hariharan Srikanth University of South Florida, Florida, USA.​
  • Prof Jackie Ying, Nanobiolab, Singapore
  • Prof.  Mathias Ulbricht ​Lehrstuhl für Technische Chemie II, Universität Duisburg-Essen, Germany​.
  • Prof. Alexander M. Korsunsky Fellow(em), Trinity College, Oxford, UK.
  • Prof. Stefan Wuttke, BCMaterials Leioa and IKERBASQUE Bilbao, Spain.