Sign In

About UAE & Sharjah

UAE: a constitutional federation of seven emirates 

United Arab Emirates consists of seven emirates: Abu Dhabi, Dubai, Sharjah, Ras Al Khaimah, Ajman, Umm Al Quwain and Fujairah. Four-fifths of the UAE is desert but has contrasting landscapes—from the towering red dunes of the Liwa to the rich palm-filled Oasis of Al Ain, from the precipitous Hajjar Mountains to the more fertile stretches of its coastal plains. 

Though small in size , UAE has become an important player in regional and international affairs. In 1971, the late President Sheikh Zayed bin Sultan Al Nahyan unified the small, underdeveloped states into a federation—the only one in the Arab world. With his visionary leadership, oil wealth was used to develop UAE into one of the world's most open and successful economies.

In 2004, His Highness Sheikh Khalifa bin Zayed Al Nahyan became the President and has since continued to strive towards an ambitious vision for UAE. 


Quick facts

National Day:

2 December (The UAE was establised on 2 December, 1971)


The late Sheikh Zayed bin Sultan Al Nahyan


H. H. Sheikh Khalifa bin Zayed Al Nahyan (Ruler of Abu Dhabi)

Vice President and Prime Minister:

H. H. Sheikh Mohamed bin Rashid Al Maktoum (Ruler of Dubai)


83,600 Sq. km. ; Abu Dhabi accounts for 87% of the country's total landmass.


Bordered to the North by the Arabian Gulf, to the East by the Gulf of Oman and Sultanate of Oman, to the South by Saudi Arabia and Sultanate of Oman and to the West by Qatar and Saudi Arabia.


Arid desert, cooler in the eastern mountains. (Winter: warm & sunny / Summer: hot and humid). The average annual rainfall in the coastal area is fewer than 120 mm (4.7 in), but in some mountainous areas annual rainfall often reaches 350 mm (13.8 in) where it is also generally cooler.


8.19 million.


Abu Dhabi

Monetary unit:

UAE Dirham 1AED = 100 Fills

Exchange rate:

1 USD = AED 3.67 (Pegged to the US Dollar)


Friday and Saturday

Official language:


Other languages:

English, Farsi, Hindi, Urdu


Islam (Practice of other religious beliefs is allowed)


GMT +4 (Daylight Saving Time +3)

International dialing code:


 Internet domain:


About UAE & Sharjah

About Sharjah

Sharjah is the third largest emirate in the United Arab Emirates and is the only emirate which overlooks two seas, the Arabian Gulf and the Gulf of Oman. Sharjah is characterized by its inviting heritage and historical monuments which refer to its development and originality throughout the ages. It includes several major cities, including the cities of Al Dhaid and the three East Coast City Khorefkan, Kalba and Dibba Al Hisn. It won the 1998 title of the Capital of Arab Culture by UNESCO. And also it won the title of Capital of Islamic Culture for 2014.

Sharjah is associated with a name in the fields of thought and knowledge, on behalf of its ruler and patron of His Highness Sheikh Dr. Sultan bin Mohammed Al Qasimi, Supreme Council Member and Ruler of Sharjah, who devoted his life and his efforts to enrich the cultural and cognitive life. He gave his instructions in 1997 to establish the University City, which has more than fifteen academic institutions that contribute to the consolidation of higher education and scientific research concepts, which enhances its leading role in the region.

Sharjah holds each year many cultural events, namely, the days of Sharjah heritage, Sharjah Theatre Days, Sharjah Prize of the Holy Quran and the Sunnah, Exhibition of Sharjah International Book Fair, Sharjah Children's Book Exhibition, Sharjah School Theater Festival , Emirates University Theatre Festival, Sharjah Islamic Festival of Art and Sharjah Light Festival.