Sign In

Chair's Welcome


The Department of Sociology was established as one of the departments of the College of Arts and Sciences at the University of Sharjah at the beginning of the founding of the university in 1997. Since the academic year 2009/2010, it has become one of the departments of the College of Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences after its separation from the College of Sciences. The department's vision is to provide distinguished, qualitative education that matches local and regional levels and seeks to reach the global level. Through this education, students acquire the scientific knowledge and technical skills necessary to understand social problems and issues in their society, and to contribute effectively to solving them.

Over the past ten years, the department has witnessed steady growth, embodied in the increase in the number of faculty members and students. This is what made the Department of Sociology the largest department in the College of Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences, as it represents 40% of the number of its students. It currently offers three programs in sociology: Bachelor, Master and Doctorate.

In the year 2007/2008, the number of female students in the department was 272, and the number of its students today is 1,068 male and female students. As for the number of master's students, it was 18 male and female students when the Applied Sociology major was opened in 2008/2009, and their number today is 107 male and female students. The doctoral program was opened 7 years ago with the registration of 15 male and female students, bringing the number today to 52 male and female students. The number of faculty members was 7 in 2007/2008, and today it is 21 members.

It should be noted that the sociology major was limited to female students only, but now admission has been opened to male students also at the main university center. The department also seeks to open two programs in crime and criminal justice; The first is at the master's level, and the second is for the doctorate.​

It must be noted that the Department of Sociology includes faculty members with a high degree of experience, competence, and diversity in research, education, and community service. They work in a harmonious team spirit, which provides students with opportunities to build a solid knowledge base and acquire advanced technical skills to serve the community in various fields.​


​​Head of Sociology Department

تسجيل الدخول

كلمة رئيس القسم


تأسس قسم علم الاجتماع بوصفه أحد أقسام كلية الآداب والعلوم في جامعة الشارقة مع بداية تأسيس الجامعة عام 1997، وقد أصبح منذ السنة الاكاديمية 2009/2010 أحد أقسام كلية الآداب والعلوم الإنسانية والاجتماعية  بعد انفصالها عن كلية العلوم. تتمثل رؤية القسم في تقديم تعليم نوعي متميز يضاهي المستويات المحلية والإقليمية ويسعى للوصول إلى العالمية. يكتسب الطلبة من خلال هذا التعليم المعارف العلمية، والمهارات الفنية اللازمة لفهم المشكلات والقضايا الاجتماعية في مجتمعهم، والمساهمة الفعالة في حلها.  

شهد القسم خلال العشر سنوات الأخيرة نموا مضطرداً تجسد في زيادة أعداد أعضاء هيئة التدريس والطلبة . ذلك ما جعل قسم علم الاجتماع أكبر قسم في كلية الآداب والعلوم الإنسانية والاجتماعية إذ يشكل 40% من عدد طلابها، ويطرح حاليا ثلاثة برامج في علم الاجتماع هي؛ البكالوريوس، الماجستير والدكتوراه.

في سنة 2007/ 2008 كان عدد طالبات القسم 272 طالبة، ويبلغ عدد طلابه اليوم  1068    طالب وطالبة. أما عدد طلبة الماجستير فكان 18 طالب وطالبة عند فتح تخصص علم الاجتماع التطبيقي سنة 2008/2009، ويبلغ عددهم اليوم  107 طالب وطالبة. كما تم فتح برنامج الدكتوراه منذ 7 سنوات بتسجيل 15 طالب وطالبة، ليصبح عددهم اليوم 52 طالب وطالبة. أما عدد أعضاء هيئة التدريس فكان عددهم 7 أعضاء سنة 2007/2008، ويبلغ اليوم 21 عضواً.

 تجدر الإشارة إلى أن تخصص علم الاجتماع كان مقتصراً على الطالبات فقط، أما الآن فتم فتح باب القبول للطلاب أيضا في مركز الجامعة الرئيسي . كما يسعى القسم إلى فتح برنامجين في الجريمة والعدالة الجنائية؛ الأول على مستوى الماجستير، والثاني للدكتوراه.

لا بد من التنويه أن قسم علم الاجتماع يضم أعضاء هيئة تدريسية على درجة عالية من الخبرة والكفاءة والتنوع في البحث والتعليم وخدمة المجتمع يعملون بروح الفريق المنسجم، ما يتيح للطلبة فرص تكوين قاعدة معرفية صلبة، واكتساب مهارات فنية راقية لخدمة المجتمع في مختلف المجالات.​



​رئيس قسم علم الاجتماع