Sign In
Skip Navigation Links.
Expand AboutAbout
Programs & Degrees
Our People
Expand Quick linksQuick links
Expand MediaMedia

Doctor of Philosophy in Arabic Language and Literature

College
College of Arts Humanities and Social Sciences
Department
Department of Arabic Language and Literature
Level
Phd
Study System
Thesis and Courses
Total Credit Hours
48 Cr. Hrs
Duration
3-5 Years
Intake
Fall & Spring
Location
Sharjah Main Campus
Language
Arabic
Study Mode
Full Time

Doctor of Philosophy in Arabic Language and Literature


The University of Sharjah is a non-profit Arab university and scientific institution owned by the government of Sharjah, which enjoys administrative and financial independence. 

The establishment of Department of Arabic Language and Literature with the inauguration of the University of Sharjah in the academic year 1997/1998. Since then, a sizeable number of students enrolled in its undergraduate program.
In 2001, it started offering a master degree program, which attracted graduates from other departments and universities. Over the past few years, the program has witnessed a significant increase in the number of applicants. One major attraction of this postgraduate program is that it has responded to the development and modernization requirements of the UAE, and fulfilled the goal of the University of Sharjah to meet the growing needs of the local and regional communities for scholars and specialists in scientific researches in the field of Arabic language and literature. 

In addition, the Arabic Department launched a Ph.D. program, accredited by the Ministry of Higher Education and Scientific Research, to meet the needs of the UAE and match the momentous scientific development in the country.
The program complies with the provisions stipulated in the Standards for Licensure and Accreditation 2011 edition, issued by the Commission for Academic Accreditation in the Ministry of Higher Education.


Objectives
  1. Training Ph.D. holders to conduct scientific research in the fields of Arabic language and literature, linguistics, and criticism
  2. Supplying governmental institutions,  in particular the Ministry of Higher Education, with Ph.D. graduates in Arabic language and literature to fill positions in teaching and other areas
  3. Providing research centers with Ph.D. holders
  4. Enabling Master Degree graduates to obtain their PhD degrees
  5. Cultivating a generation of scholars and researchers in the fields of Arabic language and literature
  6. Creating a scientific research environment in linguistics and literary studies that contributes to the fulfillment of the university's mission


Joint Compulsory Course Description

3 credit hours Discourse Analysis 0201711
This course covers: the concept of discourse and its types, the overlap of discourse, texts and sentences, discourse strategies and techniques, linguistic theories and text, linguistic trends in text analysis, status of text in syntax theories, rhetorical structures that transcend the functional structures, rhetorical issues that reveal the discourse structure, referential connections, and applications to political, religious, social, literary, and legal discourse. ​ ​
 

3 credit hours Classical Text Studies 0201713
This course presents traditional Arabic texts selected from primary sources in the fields of linguistics and literature. The course focuses on comprehension and analysis of phrases, exploring content and meaning, discussion of the ideas presented in the text, and careful study of the author's chosen style, philosophy, and inclinations. ​ ​
 

3 credit hours Issues in Stylistics 0201712
This course discusses a number of issues related to the concept and objectives of stylistics. It also focuses on the phenomenon of style from a literary and linguistic viewpoint, and the stylistic approaches of study and their relation to rhetorical, linguistic, and critical studies, highlighting the similarities and differences between them. It also covers the various trends of stylistics including expressionist, structural, literary, statistical, and semiotic stylistics. The course concludes with the practical application of methods of stylistic analysis to a number of selected texts. ​ ​
 

Language and Syntax Courses Description

3 credit hours
Syntax Comparative Studies 0201721
This course explores a number of selected topics in syntax and morphology, and how they were viewed by ancient grammarians and the adherents of the Kufa and Basra schools of Arabic linguistics. These selected issues are then analyzed according to current linguistic viewpoints, and evaluated based on the principles of the descriptive approach of the Arabic language. The course focuses on both theory and practice. ​ ​
 

3 credit hours
Contrastive Studies in Syntax 0201722
This course deals with issues related to the deep and surface structures of the Arabic language. It presents old and current views on these issues and the traditional and contemporary approaches employed to analyze these grammatical structures. ​ ​
 

3 credit hours Applied Linguistics 0201724
This course covers language learning and teaching, translation, language and computers, and various language applications. ​ ​
 

3 credit hours Studies in Text Grammar & Syntax 0201725
This course deals with the emergence, development, trends, main concepts, and applications of text grammar. It also discusses prominent Arab and non-Arab text grammarians and the reasons for the shift from sentence grammar to text grammar. In addition, it presents the seven standards of textuality: cohesion, coherence, intentionality, acceptability, informativity, situationality, and intertextuality. The course also discusses the role of text grammar in the development of critical discourse, the boundary of the text and its components, text and context grammar, issues in text grammar, and text coherence. ​ ​
 

3 credit hours Terminology Science 0201726
This course deals with issues related to the concept, formulation mechanisms, and generation methods of terminology. It also deals with the issues of terminology in old and current linguistic and literary studies, and the work of individuals and institutions that develop new terminologies. ​ ​
 

3 credit hours Studies in Semantics 0201727
This course deals with the definition of semantics and its origins. It reviews old and current studies and theories conducted by John Lyons and others. In addition, the course discusses the scope and study methods of semantics, and the study of different types of meaning. The course also engages the students in the analytical application of semantics in the study of selected texts. ​ ​
 

3 credit hours Studies in Solecism Books 0201728
This course explores the emergence, causes, spread, and types of solecism in the recitation of the Quran. It also explores the issues of articulatory, syntactic, semantic, and morphological solecism. In addition, it reviews instances of solecism in the Quran and hadith, its effects, and proposed methods of countering solecism. The course also includes selected readings from old and contemporary sources on solecism. ​ ​
 

Literature and Criticism Courses Description

3 credit hours Current Critical Approaches 0201732
This course discusses a number of issues related to the most important classical critical approaches that were concerned with the analysis and criticism of literary texts such as the historical, psychological, social, and aesthetic approaches. It also deals with modern approaches such as the structural, stylistic, semiological, and deconstructive approaches. Moreover, the course reviews reception theory, reading and interpretation, and text linguistics. The course also emphasizes the need to view these theories and approaches within the western social and philosophical context where they were developed. It draws the students' attention to prominent western scholars who developed these approaches and theories, and the Arab scholars who were influenced by them to varying degrees depending on their personal convictions and their interest in traditional Arabic critical approaches. It is worth noting here that these Arabic approaches can be developed and used as alternatives to the western-based approaches in the critical analysis of Arabic texts, while still utilizing the western approaches and their applications. ​ ​
 

0201731 Old Critical Methods 3 hours
This course studies the critical approaches that accompanied old Arabic poetry. It clarifies different characteristics and conditions, establishes its theoretical sayings related to poetry, and introduces the most important critics of these approaches and their critical production.  ​ ​


0201738 Studies in Emirati Literature 3 hours
The course is concerned with defining the conditions of the emergence of Arabic literature with its various arts in the United Arab Emirates, the conditions of its first inception prior to the formation of the state, and the famous writers who created this literature in its various arts and fields. ​ ​


0201734
Studies in Old Arabic Prose 3 hours
This course studies issues related to the old Arabic oral and written prose, its poetry, its development, artistic trends, and its narrative styles. ​ ​


0201736
Studies in Modern Arabic Prose 3 hours
The course examines issues in modern Arabic prose, including: its initial inception, its connection with old Arabic prose and its development, and its influence on its models, the overlap of its modern literary arts with each other, its connection with contemporary international literature and its influence on the form and content. It also studies the main directions of this prose: the essay, the literary essay, the autobiography, the biography, the short story, the story, and the prose play. The course defines the different features of these trends through appropriate texts, and is concerned with introducing modern Arab prosaists and their effects on various modern literary arts that are referred to above. ​ ​



0201735 Studies in Old Arabic Poetry 3 hours
This course examines a number of studies in old Arabic literature in a theoretical and applied method, such as: the topic of the Muallaqat in pre-Islamic poetry, an applied study of the Antar ibn Shaddad al-Absi's Muallaqat, the topic of building the pre-Islamic poem, an applied study (Hamziah Zuhair bin Abi Salma), animal symbolism in the old Arabic poem, an applied study (in kind Abu Dhu'ayb Al-Hadhali), literary methods in interpreting and analyzing Arabic poetry, development and renewal in Arabic poetry, a textual study of a poem by Al-Mutanabbi, a textual study of a poem by Abu Tammam, a textual study of a poem by Abu Nawas. ​ ​
 


0201737
Studies in Modern Arabic Poetry 3 hours
This course studies in depth and comprehensiveness issues related to modern Arabic poetry, its narration and codification, the structure and development of the Arabic poem, the impact of Islam on poetry, the artistic trends of poetry, the interaction of poetry with life, and its understanding of new cultural and civilizational transformations. ​ ​
 

0201733 Literary Studies in English 3 hours
This course provides doctoral students with the opportunity to read literary studies in a foreign language, and enable them to benefit from a theoretical and epistemological point of view in their areas of interest. The main purpose of the course is to enhance students' ability to read and understand these texts to encourage them to do similar readings on their own. These readings will benefit students in their research and in expanding their knowledge of literature and language. The course material consists of anthology drawn from the writings of foreign scholars, most of which are directly related to literature and/or language. ​ ​


0201798 Qualifying Exam (for two tracks: Language and Grammar-Literature and Criticism ) 0 hour
 

0201799 Thesis (for two tracks: Language and Grammar, Literature and Criticism) 24 credit hours

تسجيل الدخول
  • E
  • ع+
  • ع
  • ع-
  • E
  • ع+
  • ع
  • ع-

دكتوراة الفلسفة في اللغة العربیة وآدابھا

الكلية
كلية الآداب والعلوم الإنسانية والاجتماعية
القسم
قسم اللغة العربية وآدابها
المرحلة
الدكتوراه
نظام الدراسة
المساقات الدراسية والأطروحة
عدد الساعات المعتمدة
48
المدة الدراسية
5-3 سنوات
الفصول الدراسية
الخريف والربيع
مكان الدراسة
الحرم الجامعي الرئيسي
لغة التدريس
العربية
وضع الدراسة
دوام كامل

دكتوراة الفلسفة في اللغة العربیة وآدابھا

تعتبر جامعة الشارقة جامعة عربية  وهيئة علمية مستقلة غير ربحية ذات شخصية اعتبارية لها الاستقلال المالي والإداري وتعود ملكيتها لحكومة الشارقة.
وقد تأسّس قسم اللغة العربية وآدابها مع تأسيس جامعة الشارقة في العام الدراسي (1997 – 1998م) ، وخرّج القسم عددًا من الطلاب و الطالبات  في مرحلة (البكالوريوس) منذ إنشائه وما زال يخرج، وفتح برنامجًا للدراسات العليا (الماجستير) عام (2001م)، فسجل فيه عدد من الطلاب والطالبات من متخرجي القسم، ومن جامعات وكليات أخرى. و تخرج في هذا البرنامج عدد من الطلاب والطالبات.
ولقد شهد القسم تطوراً ملحوظاً في أعداد الطلاب المتقدّمين للبرنامج، وأصبح برنامج الماجستير يستجيب لمتطلبات التنمية والتحديث التي تشهدها دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة، ويحقّق رغبة جامعة الشارقة في تلبية الحاجات المتزايدة لمتطلبات المجتمع المحلي والإقليمي في تخريج  باحثين متخصصين باللغة العربية وآدابها.
واستجابة لمتطلبات دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة، وما تنحوه من رُقيّ وتطورٍ علمي ملحوظ، فُتح برنامج الدكتوراه في القسم بعد اعتماده من وزراة التعليم العالي والبحث العلمي، وهذا الملف فيه رسالة البرنامج، وأهدافه ، ومتطلبات التخرج، ومكونات البرنامج، وشروط القبول، ومخرجات البرنامج، وخطته .
علماً أن البرنامج يستند إلى المعايير الواردة في نشرة معايير الترخيص والاعتماد عام 2011م الصادرة عن هيئة الاعتماد الأكاديمي في وزارة التعليم العالي والبحث العلمي في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة.


أهداف البرنامج
  1. إعداد مجموعة من الباحثين المتعمقين تعمقًا دقيقًا في اللغة والنحو والأدب والنقد.
  2. رفد مؤسسات الدولة بصفة عامة، ومؤسسات التعليم العالي بصفة خاصة بحائزين على درجة الدكتوراه في اللغة العربية وآدابها ،للاستعانة بـهم في التدريس، ومؤسسات الدولة المختلفة.
  3. سد حاجة مراكز البحوث في الدولة وخارجها بباحثين حاصلين على درجة الدكتوراه في اللغة والأدب.
  4. تمكين الطلاب والطالبات الحاصلين على الماجستير من مواصلة دراساتِهم العليا ، في دراسة الدكتوراه.
  5. توفير بيئة علمية بحثية تسهم في تحقيق رسالة الجامعة في مجال تطوير البحث العلمي في الدراسات اللغوية والأدبية ..

مكونات البرنامج

المتطلبات الإجبارية  المشتركة 9  ساعة معتمدة
المتطلبات الاجبارية التخصصية لفرع اللغة والنحو

وفرع الأدب والنقد
9 ساعات معتمدة
المتطلبات الاختيارية التخصصية 6ساعات معتمدة
الرسالة 24 ساعة معتمدة
المجموع 48 ساعة معتمدة




متطلبات القبول الخاصة بالبرنامج
انظر شروط وأسس القبول على الرابط : 

( http://www.sharjah.ac.ae/ar/Research/gs/phd/Pages/ar.aspx )



وصف المساقات
وصف المساقات الإجبارية المشتركة
0201611 تحليل الخطاب 3 ساعات
يبحث في هذا المساق: مفهوم الخطاب وأنواعه، تداخلات الخطاب مع النص والجملة، استراتيجيات الخطاب وآلياته، النظريات اللسانية والنص، الاتجاهات اللسانية في تحليل النص، منزلة النص في النظريات النحوية، الأبنية الخطابية المتجاوزة البنية العاملية، المسائل الخطابية الكاشفة عن بنية الخطاب، الروابط الإحالية، تطبيق على الخطاب السياسي، والديني، والاجتماعي، والأدبي، والقانوني. ​ ​

0201613 قراءة في نصوص تراثية 3 ساعات
يدرس في هذا المساق: نصوص من كتب التراث العربي منتخبة من كتب اللغة والأدب، ويركز فيها على فهم العبارة وتحليلها، واستكشاف المضمون والمحتوى، ومناقشة أفكار النص، ودراسة المنهج الذي اختاره صاحب النص، والوقوف بتأمل على مذهبه واتجاهاته. وتختار تلك النصوص من أمات المصادر اللغوية والأدبية. ​ ​


0201612 قضايا في الأسلوبية 3 ساعات
يناقش المساق مجموعة من القضايا تتعلّق بعلم الأسلوبية من حيث مفهومه وأهدافه، ودراسة ظاهرة الأسلوب في بعديها اللساني والأدبي، ومناهج الدرس الأسلوبي وعلاقتها بالدراسات البلاغية والنقدية واللسانية، مع أوجه التشابه والاختلاف بينهما، ويتناول اتجاهات الأسلوبية المختلفة مثل: الأسلوبية التعبيرية، والأسلوبية البنيوية، والأسلوبية الأدبية، والأسلوبية الإحصائية، والأسلوبية السيميائية، ثمّ يقوم بتطبيق آليات التحليل الأسلوبي على نصوص مختارة. ​ ​

وصف مساقات اللغة والنحو 

0201621 موضوعات خاصة في النحو والصرف 3 ساعات
يُدَرَّس في هذا المساق: موضوعات منتقاة من النحو والصرف، والوقوف على آراء النحاة القدامى بشأنها، وموقف مدرستي البصرة والكوفة منها، وتحليلها من وجهة نظر لسانية معاصرة، وتقويمها موازنة بالمنهج الوصفي للغة العربية، والتركيز على الدمج بين الجانب النظري والتطبيقي. ​ ​

0201622 دراسات نحوية مقارنة 3 ساعات
يتناول هذا المساق مسائل نحوية في الأصول والفروع، والموازنة بينها، والوقوف على رأي النحاة القدامى والدارسين المحدثين فيها. وبيان مناهج النحاة في تناولها وتحليلها، و المنهج المعاصر فيها. ​ ​

0201624 اللسانيات التطبيقية 3 ساعات
يتناول المساق قضايا تتعلق بتعلم اللغات وتعليمها، والترجمة، واللغة والحاسوب، وتطبيقات اللغة في مجالات مختلفة. ​ ​

0201625 دراسة في نحو النص 3 ساعات
يدرس في هذا المساق: نحو النص نشأته وتطوره، أبرز أعلامه من العرب وغيرهم، اتجاهاته، مفاهيمه وتطبيقاتها، أسباب الخروج عن نحو الجملة وبدايات علم النص، مناقشة المعايير السبعة: المقصدية، والإعلامية، والمقبولية، والتناص، والسبك، والحبك، والسياق، إسهامات نحو النص في تطوير الخطاب النقدي، حد النص ومكوناته، نحو النص والسياق، موضوعات نحو النص، الترابط النصي. ​ ​

0201626 علم المصطلح 3 ساعات
يتناول المساق مجموعة من القضايا تتعلّق بعلم المصطلح من حيث مفهومه وآليات صياغته وطرق توليده، وإشكالاته في المؤلفات اللغوية والأدبية والنقدية القديمة والحديثة، والقضايا التي أثيرت بشأنه في العصر الحديث، وبيان جهود المهتمين بصناعة المصطلح من أفراد ومؤسّسات. ​ ​

0201627 دراسات في علم الدلالة 3 ساعات
يدرس المساق مفهوم علم الدلالة وأصوله ومباحثه في كتب التراث، ونظرياته كما وردت عند الدارسين المحدثين أمثال جون ليونز وغيره، وبيان مرجعياته وإشكالاته المنهجية ودراسة أنواع المعنى، مع تطبيقات تحليلية على أنواعه وتمثلاته على نصوص مختارة. ​ ​


0201628 دراسات في كتب اللحن 3 ساعات
يدرس في هذا المساق: نشأة اللحن وأسبابه، توسع اللحن وأشكاله، اللحن على المستوى الصوتي، وعلى المستوى الصرفي، وعلى المستوى المعجمي ، وعلى المستوى النحوي ، وعلاج اللحن لدى القدامى، اللحن في القرآن، اللحن في الحديث الشريف، آثار اللحن ، قراءة في كتب اللحن القديمة والحديثة . ​ ​


وصف مساقات الأدب والنقد
0201632 مناهج نقدية حديثة 3 ساعات
يناقش المساق مجموعة من القضايا تتعلّق بأهم المناهج النقدية من منظومة المناهج النقدية التاريخية التي تعنى بتحليل النصوص الأدبية ونقدها، كالمنهج التاريخي، والمنهج النفسي، والمنهج الاجتماعي، والمنهج الجمالي. ومن منظومة المناهج النقدية الحداثية، كالمنهج البنيوي، والمنهج ا؟لأسلوبي، والمنهج السيميولوجي، والتفكيكية، ونظريات التلقي، والقراءة والتأويل، وعلم النص. كل ذلك مع التنبيه إلى الظروف الفلسفية والحضارية الغربية التي نشأت في كنفها هذه المناهج بشكل عام، والتنبيه كذلك إلى الأعلام الغربيين الذين أبدعوا هذه المناهج، وإلى الأعلام العرب الذين أخذو بهذه المناهج، والتطبيقات النقدية العربية التي أُبدعها هؤلاء النقاد الذين تأثروا بهذه المناهج الغربية، كل حسب قناعاته، وحسب درجة تأثره بها، وحسب قناعاته بتراث النقد العربي الذي يمكن تطويره والأخذ به كبديل للنقد الغربي في نقد نصوصنا الأدبية، مع الإفادة من مناهج النقد الغربي وتطبيقاته. ​ ​

0201631 مناهج نقدية قديمة 3 ساعات
يدرس هذا المساق المناهج النقدية التي واكبت الشعر العربي القديم , و بيّنت خصائصه و اختلفت في  شروطه , و يؤصّل مقولاتها النظرية الخاصة بالشعر , و يُعرّف بأهم نقّاد هذه المناهج و نتاجهم النقدي. ​ ​

0201638 دراسات في الأدب الإماراتي 3 ساعات
يهتم المساق بالتعريف بظروف نشأة الأدب العربي بفنونه المختلفة في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة، ;كما يعتم بظروف نشأته الأولى قبيل تشكل الدولة، ويهتم أيضا بازدهاره وتطوره بعد ذلك بسبب المستجدات المادية والمعنوية التي ساعدت في ذلك، وكذلك يعنى بالفنون الأدبية المختلفة التي ظهرت في الدولة، وبالأدباء الأعلام الذين أبدعوا هذا الأدب بمختلف فنونه ومجالاته. ​ ​

0201638 قضايا في النثر العربي القديم 3 ساعات
يدرس هذا المساق قضايا تتعلق بالنثر العربي القديم الشفاهي والمكتوب وشعريّته، وتطوره، واتجاهاته الفنية، وأنماطه السردية. ​ ​

0201636 قضايا في النثر العربي الحديث 3 ساعات
يدرس المساق قضايا في النثر العربي الحديث منها: أولية نشأته، صلته بالنثر العربي القديم وتطوره عنه، وتأثره بنماذجه، تداخل فنونه الأدبية الحديثة بعضها مع بعض، وصلته بالأداب العالمية المعاصرة وتأثره بها في الشكل والمضمون. كما يدرس الاتجاهات الرئيسة لهذا النثر: المقالة، والمقالة الأدبية، والسيرة الذاتية، والسيرة الغيرية، والقصة القصيرة، والقصة، والمسرحية النثرية. وويعرّف المساق بالملامح المختلفة لهذه الاتجاهات من خلال النصوص المناسبة، كما يعنى بالتعريف بالناثرين العرب المحدثين وآثارهم في الفنون الأدبية المستحدثة المختلفة التي أشرنا إليها آنفا. ​ ​  

0201635 قضايا في الشعر العربي القديم 3 ساعات
يدرس هذا المساق، بعمق وشمول، قضايا تتعلق بالشعر العربي القديم، وروايته وتدوينه، وبنية القصيدة العربية وتطورها، وأثر الإسلام في الشعر، واتجاهات الشعر الفنية، وتفاعل الشعر مع الحياة، واستيعابه التحولات الثقافية والحضارية الجديدة.. ​ ​