Sign In

Dean's Welcome

I am delighted and honoured to welcome you to the College of Arts, Humanities, and Social Sciences (CAHSS) at the University of Sharjah.

Our college is one of the largest amongst the other colleges within the university, and it consists of six established academic departments that cover the disciplinary fields of Arabic Language and Literature, Education, Foreign Languages, History and Islamic Civilization, International Relations, and Sociology.  Through them we promote the university’s by aiming for excellence in teaching, research, and public service, while also acting as an intellectual, scholarly, and cultural hub within the campus.

We offer diverse undergraduate and graduate programs that are accredited by the UAE Ministry of Higher Education and Scientific Research.  Our undergraduate curricula cover BA programs in Arabic Language and Literature, English Language and Literature, French Language and Literature, History and Islamic Civilization, Tourism Guidance, International Relations, Sociology, Education in Early Childhood, in addition to a Professional Diploma in Teaching.  Moreover, our graduate offerings consist of MA programs in Arabic Language and Literature, Translation, Sociology, along with PhD programs in Arabic Language and Literature, History and Islamic Civilization, Applied Sociology, Linguistics and Translation.  Moreover, promising future prospects will grant us the privilege of further expanding the domains of our graduate programs.

We provide quality teaching to enhance the holistic growth of our students in cultivating transferable lifelong learning skills through well-rounded fundamental disciplinary and multidisciplinary knowledge, along with complementary extracurricular activities.  We aim at equipping our students with eloquent written and oral communication skills, rigorous methods of investigation, coherent modes of reasoning and debating, deepened forms in the appreciation of tradition and historical heritage, along with the intellectual tools for analysing emergent cultural, technical, and societal developments.  All this enables our students to become outstanding contributors to society and its advancement, while  meeting the growing social needs for having innovative and ethically-responsible specialists in the arts, humanities, and social sciences; especially in an ever-changing world that is influenced by the rapid progress in modern technologies and their applications.  This is enshrined in how the scholarly research of our faculty members informs their interactive teaching methods, and guides the impactful public service they render through their community engagements.  These endeavours are furthermore enriched by interdisciplinary collaborations with other colleges, and with research centres and institutes at the university, in addition to vital interactions with the wider academic, cultural, and social networks.

Besides the academic and intellectual environment, we offer, and the state-of-the-art dedicated buildings , our students have easy access to the various excellent resources and facilities of the university campus, including advanced technology platforms, libraries, stationary outlets, sport complexes, cafeterias, and nearby cultural as well as recreational venues.  

We very much look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you in our college, and to exploring with you the rewarding pathways of our stimulating academic endeavours.​.  

With best wishes,

Prof. Zahia Smail Salhi
Acting Dean, College of Arts, Humanities, and Social Science

تسجيل الدخول

كلمة العميد

يسعدني ويشرفني أن أرحب بكم في كليّة الآداب والعلوم الإنسانية والاجتماعية في جامعة الشارقة.

كليّتنا من أكبر الكليّات داخل الجامعة، وتتآلّف من ستة أقسام أكاديمية راسخة تغطي المجالات التخصصية في اللغة العربية وآدابها، والتربية، واللغات الأجنبية، والتاريخ والحضارة الإسلامية، والعلاقات الدولية، وعلم الاجتماع. ونعزز من خلالها رسالة الجامعة في تحصيل الامتياز في حقول التدريس، والبحث العلمي، وخدمة المجتمع، مع حضورنا الفاعل فكريّا وعلميّا وثقافيّا في الحرم الجامعي.

نطرح برامج البكالوريوس والدراسات العليا المتنوعة والحاصلة على الاعتمادات الأكاديمية الرسمية من قبل وزارة التعليم العالي والبحث العلمي في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة. تغطي مناهجنا الجامعية برامج البكالوريوس في اللغة العربية وآدابها، واللغة الإنجليزية وآدابها، واللغة الفرنسية وآدابها، والتاريخ والحضارة الإسلامية، والإرشاد السياحي، والعلاقات الدولية، وعلم الاجتماع، والتعليم في مرحلة الطفولة المبكرة، بالإضافة إلى الدبلوم المهني في التدريس. بينما تشمل مناهج الدراسات العليا لدينا برامج الماجستير في اللغة العربية وآدابها، والترجمة، وعلم الاجتماع، بالإضافة إلى الدكتوراه في اللغة العربية وآدابها، والتاريخ والحضارة الإسلامية، وعلم الاجتماع التطبيقي، واللّسانيات والترجمة. وتمنحنا الآفاق المستقبلية الواعدة بالممكنات لتوسيع مجالات برامج الدراسات العليا لدينا.

نقدّم تعليمًا عالي الجودة لتعزيز النمو الشامل لطلابنا وطالباتنا في تنمية مهارات التثقّف المستدام القابل للارتقاء من خلال معارف أساسية راسخة من جهة، ومتعددة التخصصات من جهة أخرى، وذلك جنبًا إلى جنب مع الأنشطة اللامنهجية المُكملة لها. نسعى إلى تزويد طلابنا وطالباتنا بالأساليب البليغة في طرائق التواصل والتعبير المكتوبة والشفوية، واتّباع مناهج البحث الرصينة، وتطوير الأنماط المتماسكة من التفكير والمناظرة، وتأصيل وتعميق أشكال التقدير والوعي بالتقاليد والتراث التاريخي، وتحفيز الأساليب الفكرية في تحليل التطورات الثقافية والتقنية والاجتماعية الناشئة. كل هذا يُمَكِّن الطلبة من أن يصبحوا مساهمين بارزين في المجتمع وفي توطيد سبل إنمائه، مع تلبية الاحتياجات الاجتماعية المتزايدة لوجود متخصصين مبتكرين ومسؤولين أخلاقياً في الآداب والعلوم الإنسانية والاجتماعية، لا سيما في عالم دائم التغيّر تحت تأثير التقدم السريع في التكنولوجيّات الحديثة وتطبيقاتها. يتجسد هذا في كيفية استخدام البحث العلمي لأعضاء هيئة التدريس في تطوير طرائق التعلُّم التفاعلي، وفي توجيه اساليب خدمة الشأن العام بشكل فاعل ومؤثر من خلال المشاركة المجتمعية الإسنادية. علاوة على ذلك، يتم إثراء هذه المساعي من خلال التعاون المتعدد التخصصات مع الكليّات الأخرى، ومع مراكز ومعاهد البحوث في الجامعة، بالإضافة إلى التفاعل الحيوي مع الدوائر الأكاديمية والثقافية والاجتماعية الأوسع.

إلى جانب البيئة الأكاديمية والفكرية التي نوَفِرها، وأحدث المباني المتعددة التي تحتضنها، والتي تتبع لكليّتنا، فإنه يُتاح لطلبتنا الوصول بسهولة إلى مختلف الموارد والمرافق الممتازة في الحرم الجامعي، بما في ذلك منصات التكنولوجيا المتقدّمة، والمكتبات، ومراكز القرطاسية، والمجمّعات الرياضية، والمطاعم، والأماكن الثقافية والترفيهية القريبة منا.

نتطلّع بشوق إلى الترحيب بكم في كليّتنا، لكي نستكشف معاً مسارات مسعانا الأكاديمي المُثمرة.

مع أطيب التمنيات،

أ.د زاهية إسماعيل الصالحي

قائم بأعمال عميد كليّة الآداب والعلوم الإنسانية والاجتماعية