• Community Services

    More
  • Quality Research

    More
  • LC MS Analytical Lab

    More
  • Undergraduate Research

    More
  • Post Graduate Students

    More
  • Post Graduate Students Thesis Defense Day

    More
Wound Healing & Oral Diagnosis Research Group

The history of wound care spans from prehistory to modern medicine. As wounds naturally heal by themselves, regardless of whether recovery from the scar or recovery from lost body tissue, hunter-gatherers would have noticed several factors and certain herbal remedies would speed up or assist the process. The treatment of acute and chronic wounds is an ancient area of specialization in medical practice, with a long and eventful clinical history that traces its origins to ancient Egypt and Greece. The Ebers Papyrus, circa 1500 BC, details the use of lint, animal grease, and honey as topical treatments for wounds. In ancient history this was followed by the realization of the necessity of hygiene and the halting of bleeding, where wound dressing techniques and surgery developed. Eventually the germ theory of disease also assisted in improving wound care.

Oral and craniofacial wound healing is  a very interesting and challenging area of dental science. Researching into the basic biological processes of inflammation, re epithelialization and angiogenesis often create more questions than answers and invites a cluster of multidisciplinary team involving biochemist, pharmacist, pathologist, dentists, surgeons, nurses as well as researchers in oral medicine and biology to search for evidence in wound healing mechanism and its management.  The fundamental concept under investigation is “how does bone and soft tissue heals
naturally following an injury” and the knowledge gain can be applied in solving the whole range of dental issues that include dento-facial defects, TMJ derangement, dental implants, periodontal regeneration, and pulp healing.
Salivary diagnostics has evolved into a sophisticated science, and serves as a subset of the larger field of molecular diagnostics, now recognized as a central player in a wide variety of biomedical basic and clinical areas. Molecular diagnostics feeds into a wide range of disciplines including drug development, personalized medicine (pharmacogenomics) and plays a major role in discovery of biomarkers for the diagnosis of oral and systemic diseases. This is especially true since most of the biomarkers present in blood and urine can also be detected in a sample of saliva.

تسجيل الدخول

الصفحة الرئيسية

يمتد تاريخ العناية بالجروح من عصور ما قبل التاريخ إلى الطب الحديث. نظرًا لأن الجروح تلتئم بشكل طبيعي من تلقاء نفسها ، بغض النظر عما إذا كان التعافي من الندبة أو التعافي من أنسجة الجسم المفقودة ، فإن الصيادين وجمعوا الثمار قد لاحظوا عدة عوامل وأن بعض العلاجات العشبية ستسرع العملية أو تساعدها. يعد علاج الجروح الحادة والمزمنة مجالًا قديمًا للتخصص في الممارسة الطبية ، وله تاريخ سريري طويل وحافل بالأحداث يعود أصوله إلى مصر القديمة واليونان. تُفصِّل بردية إيبرس ، حوالي 1500 قبل الميلاد ، استخدام الوبر والشحوم الحيوانية والعسل كعلاجات موضعية للجروح. في التاريخ القديم ، تبع ذلك إدراك ضرورة النظافة ووقف النزيف ، حيث تطورت تقنيات تضميد الجروح والجراحة. في النهاية ، ساعدت نظرية الجراثيم للمرض أيضًا في تحسين العناية بالجروح.


يعد التئام الجروح الفموي والقحفي مجالًا مثيرًا للاهتمام وصعبًا في علوم الأسنان. غالبًا ما يؤدي البحث في العمليات البيولوجية الأساسية للالتهاب وإعادة الاندمال الظهاري وتكوين الأوعية إلى طرح أسئلة أكثر من الإجابات ويدعو مجموعة من فريق متعدد التخصصات يضم كيميائيًا حيويًا وصيدليًا وأخصائي علم الأمراض وأطباء الأسنان والجراحين والممرضات وكذلك الباحثين في طب الفم وعلم الأحياء للبحث عن أدلة في آلية التئام الجروح وإدارتها. المفهوم الأساسي قيد البحث هو "كيف تلتئم العظام والأنسجة الرخوة


بشكل طبيعي بعد الإصابة "ويمكن تطبيق اكتساب المعرفة في حل مجموعة كاملة من مشاكل الأسنان التي تشمل عيوب الأسنان والوجه ، واضطراب المفصل الفكي الصدغي ، وزراعة الأسنان ، وتجديد اللثة ، وشفاء اللب.


تطور تشخيص اللعاب إلى علم متطور ويعمل كمجموعة فرعية من مجال أكبر للتشخيص الجزيئي ، والمعترف به الآن كلاعب مركزي في مجموعة واسعة من المجالات الأساسية الطبية الحيوية والسريرية. يغذي التشخيص الجزيئي مجموعة واسعة من التخصصات بما في ذلك تطوير الأدوية والطب الشخصي (علم الصيدلة الجيني) ويلعب دورًا رئيسيًا في اكتشاف المؤشرات الحيوية لتشخيص أمراض الفم والجهازية. هذا صحيح بشكل خاص لأن معظم المؤشرات الحيوية الموجودة في الدم والبول يمكن أيضًا اكتشافها في عينة من اللعاب.