Sign In

Director's Welcome

 

Welcome to the Research Institute of Medical & Health Sciences (RIMHS) at the University of Sharjah. The Institute is an integral part of the UOS Office of Vice Chancellor for Research & Graduate Studies. RIMHS was established in September 2015. Within a short period of time, and following the vision of His Highness Sheikh Dr. Sultan Bin Mohammed AlQasimi, Member of the Supreme Council, Ruler of Sharjah, and His Highness Sheikh Sultan bin Ahmed Al Qasimi Deputy Ruler of the Emirate of Sharjah, President of the University of Sharjah; and with tremendous support from their highness as well as his excellency Prof. Hamid Al Naimiy, chancellor of UOS, RIMHS has established itself as one of the top research and innovation institutes in the UAE and the whole region. RIMHS supports more than 170 distinguished faculties and young researchers enjoying a state of the art Lab facilities and top-notch research equipments in a very encouraging and supportive research environment. Our institute hubs 27 research groups lead by distinguished faculties from the colleges of Medicine, Dentistry, Pharmacy, Health Sciences and Arts and Science. These groups focus on translational biomedical research on areas including cancer, chronic inflammatory diseases, immunological disorders, genetic disorders, diabetes, drug discovery, neuro-pharmacology, and toxicology; in addition to public health and other research areas of local and regional interest. ​

Besides, training and education is an essential part of RIMHS mission. RIMHS provide attractive training environment for a large number of undergraduate, as well as graduate masters and PhD students. Graduate students from distinguished programs including Molecular and translational medicine, biotechnology, and others are trained within RIMHS vicinity under the supervision of eminent investigators. In addition, Post-Doctorate training program resembles a major part of RIMHS educational mission, through which young investigators gains the proper training that shapes and build their competences to become independent investigators. 

RIMHS focuses intensely on rooting a culture of science and scientific research on our campus. It offers training and educational workshops on emerging technologies and novel discoveries. That is besides arranging regular symposiums and scientific meetings where in-house, local, and regional, and international researchers exchange ideas and expertise. It periodically also invites key international scientists as speakers and visiting scholars. Furthermore, RIMHS partners with several national, regional, and international educational institutions as well as industry on research, innovation, and education. ​

Our utmost aim at RIMHS is to translate our discoveries and the findings of our research activity into solutions to the challenges facing our community, leading to a better health care service. As the acting director of RIMHS, and with the support of his excellency our Chancellor, and the Vice Chancellor of Research, as well as my colleagues at RIMHS, I will do my best to help and support all investigators affiliated with RIMHS, and other interested academic and research units at our campus, to achieve that. I believe with our dedication, hard work, intensive cooperation, and tight collaborations, RIMHS will soon be among the leading institutes in the region delivering impactful research that positively affects the quality of life of our communities and wider societies.  



Prof. Rabih Halwani,
Acting Director of the Research Institute of Medical & Health Sciences

تسجيل الدخول

كلمة المدير

مرحبًا بكم في معهد البحوث للعلوم الطبية و الصحية بجامعة الشارقة, يعد هذا المعهد جزء لا يتجزأ من مكتب نائب مدير الجامعة لشؤون البحث العلمي والدراسات العليا . تأسس معهد البحوث للعلوم الطبية و الصحية في سبتمبر 2015. خلال فترة وجيزة وباتباع رؤية صاحب السمو الشيخ الدكتور سلطان بن محمد القاسمي عضو المجلس الأعلى حاكم إمارة الشارقة وصاحب السمو الشيخ سلطان بن أحمد القاسمي نائب حاكم إمارة الشارقة رئيس جامعة الشارقة وبدعم هائل من أصحاب السمو  و سعادة البروفيسور/ حميد مجول النعيمي، مدير جامعة الشارقة ، رسخ المعهد مكانته كواحد من أفضل معاهد البحث والابتكار في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة والمنطقة بأسرها.  يدعم معهد البحوث للعلوم الطبية و الصحية أكثر من 170 باحثاً يتمتعون بأحدث مرافق المختبرات ومعدات بحثية من الدرجة الأولى في بيئة مشجعة و داعمة للغاية. يضم معهدنا 27 مجموعة بحثية بقيادة أساتذة متميزين من كليات الطب وطب الأسنان والصيدلة والعلوم الصحية والآداب والعلوم. تركز هذه المجموعات على الأبحاث الطبية الحيوية التطبيقية في مجالات تشمل السرطان ، والأمراض الالتهابية المزمنة ، والاضطرابات المناعية ، والاضطرابات الوراثية ، والسكري ، واكتشاف الأدوية ، وعلم الأدوية العصبية ، وعلم السموم ؛ بالإضافة إلى الصحة العامة ومجالات البحث الأخرى ذات الاهتمام المحلي والإقليمي.

إلى جانب ذلك ، يعد التدريب والتعليم جزءًا أساسيًا من مهمة معهد البحوث للعلوم الطبية و الصحية حيث يوفر المعهد بيئة تدريبية جذابة لعدد كبير من الطلاب الجامعيين وكذلك طلاب الماجستير والدكتوراه. يتم تدريب طلاب الدراسات العليا المنتسبين إلى برامج متميزة مثل الطب الجزيئي و التطبيقي والتكنولوجيا الحيوية وغيرها في المعهد تحت إشراف أساتذة بارزين. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، يشكل البرنامج التدريبي لما بعد الدكتوراه جزءًا كبيرًا من مهمة المعهد التعليمية ، والتي من خلالها يكتسب الطلاب التدريب المناسب الذي يبني كفاءاتهم ليصبحوا باحثين مستقلين.​

يركز المعهد  بشكل مكثف على تأصيل ثقافة العلم والبحث العلمي في حرمنا الجامعي. يقدم ورش عمل تدريبية وتعليمية حول التقنيات الناشئة والاكتشافات الجديدة. هذا إلى جانب تنظيم ندوات واجتماعات علمية منتظمة حيث يتبادل الباحثون المحليون والإقليميون والدوليون الأفكار والخبرات. كما يدعو المعهد بشكل دوري العلماء الدوليين الرئيسيين كمتحدثين وعلماء زائرين. علاوة على ذلك ، يتعاون المعهد مع العديد من المؤسسات التعليمية الوطنية والإقليمية والدولية و مع العديد من شكرات الأدوية و التقنية الحيوية في مجالات البحث والابتكار والتعليم.

هدفنا الأقصى في معهد البحوث للعلوم الطبية و الصحية هو ترجمة اكتشافاتنا ونتائج نشاطنا البحثي إلى حلول للتحديات الصحية التي تواجه مجتمعنا ، مما يؤدي إلى خدمة رعاية صحية أفضل. بصفتي قائم بأعمال​ مدير معهد البحوث للعلوم الطبية و الصحية، وبدعم من سعادة مدير الجامعة ونائب رئيس الجامعة للأبحاث ، ومن زملائي في المعهد ، سأبذل قصارى جهدي لمساعدة ودعم جميع الباحثين المنتسبين إلى المعهد وغيرهم من المهتمين في الوحدات الأكاديمية والبحثية في الحرم الجامعي لدينا. و كلي ثقة أنه من خلال تفانينا وعملنا الجاد وتعاوننا المكثف الوثيق ، سيصبح معهدنا قريبًا من بين المعاهد الرائدة في المنطقة التي تقدم أبحاثًا مميزة تؤثر بشكل إيجابي على جودة الحياة مجتمعنا و منطقتنا بشكل عام. 

​​

أ. د. ربيع حلواني
قائم بأعمال مدير​ ​معهد البحوث للطب والعلوم الصحية