Sign In

Research Translation Unit

Overview

The Research Translation Unit (RTU) falls under the supervision of the Office of the Vice Chancellor for Scientific Research and Graduate Studies, and it is procedurally affiliated to the Research Institute for Humanities and Social Sciences. The University of Sharjah supports scientific research in Arabic, English and other foreign languages. A large number of faculty members and students publish their research work in Arabic, which is very important for the support of community needs. However, most of this research is not published in Scopus-indexed, which affects the university's rankings.

Aims of the Unit

Establishing the RTU aims at valorizing the efforts made by our faculty writing in Arabic to produce quality research that has a potential of reaching international visibility and increasing the ranking of UOS through assisting faculty members and Graduate students from the Colleges of Humanities and Social Sciences, the College of Sharia and Islamic Studies, the College of Law and the College of Communication to publish their research work in English in the international journals included in the Scopus database.

Functions of the Unit

Faculty members have to apply a request to the RTU indicating their desire to translate their articles. A committee shall be formed to select the papers which meet the specified criteria.

The unit will start the translation to English once the submitted papers receive the approval of the Content Evaluation Committee (CEC). The Submission of the article to the Journal is the responsibility of the faculty member in coordination with the Unit.​

1. Translating research works that are originally written in Arabic language that have a strong potential for publication in Q1 and Q2 Scopus-indexed journals once they are approved by the CEC.

2. Eligible authors are either faculty members or graduate researchers (MA and PhD students).

3. The RTU shall examine the translated version of the document for final editing.

4. The joint work of more than one author is encouraged

5. The unit also provides, upon approval of the CEC, an editing service for documents written in English and submitted by students/faculty from the following colleges: Shari'a and Islamic Studies, Law, Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences, as well as the College of Communication.

  

To apply for the translation of a research work into English, please click here​



​ ​​












 Coordinator of the Research Translation Unit - RIHSS






​​

تسجيل الدخول

وحدة ترجمة البحوث


نبذة عن وحدة ترجمة البحوث

تتبع وحدة ترجمة البحوث (RTU)  لمعهد البحوث للعلوم الإنسانية والاجتماعية. وتدعم جامعة الشارقة البحث العلمي باللغات العربية والإنجليزية وغيرها من اللغات الأجنبية. وهناك عدد كبير من أعضاء هيئة التدريس و الطلبة ينشرون أعمالهم البحثية باللغة العربية، وهو أمر مهم للغاية لدعم احتياجات المجتمع. ومع ذلك ، فإن غالبية هذه البحوث لا تنشر في المجلات المدرجة في قاعدة بيانات سكوبس، مما يؤثر على التصنيف العالمي للجامعة.

يهدف إنشاء وحدة ترجمة البحوث إلى تثمين الجهود التي يبذلها أعضاء هيئة التدريس الذين يكتبون باللغة العربية وينتجون بحوثا عالية الجودة بإمكانها الوصول إلى القارئ العالمي وتحسين تصنيف جامعة الشارقة. وذلك من خلال مساعدة أعضاء هيئة التدريس وطلاب الدراسات العليا من كلية العلوم الإنسانية والاجتماعية وكلية الشريعة والدراسات الإسلامية وكلّية القانون وكلية الاتصال على نشر أعمالهم البحثية باللغة الإنجليزية في المجلات الدولية المدرجة في قاعدة بيانات سكوبس.


مهام وحدة ترجمة البحوث

يتعيّن على أعضاء هيئة التدريس تقديم طلب إلى وحدة ترجمة البحوث التابعة معهد البحوث للعلوم الإنسانية والاجتماعية من خلال بوّابة المعهد على موقع جامعة الشارقة موضّحين رغبتهم في ترجمة مقالاتهم العلمية إلى اللغة الانجليزية. وتقوم وحدة ترجمة البحوث على إثر ذلك بتشكيل لجنة لفحص البحوث المقدّمة التي تستوفي المعايير المحددة.

وتبدأ الوحدة في ترجمة البحوث المختارة إلى اللغة الإنجليزية بمجرد حصولها على موافقة لجنة تقييم المحتوى بعد استشارة محكّمين متخصّصين في مجال البحث المقدّم. ويعتبر تقديم المقال للمجلة المستهدفة للنشر من مسئولية عضو هيئة التدريس بالتنسيق مع الوحدة. وفيما يلي أهمّ مهام وحدة ترجمة البحوث:

  1. تقوم وحدة البحوث بترجمة الأعمال البحثية المكتوبة باللغة العربية والتي لها إمكانية كبيرة للنشر في المجلات المصنّفة ضمن الربع الأول (Q1) والربع الثاني (Q2) في قاعدة بيانات سكوبس بمجرد اعتمادها من قبل لجنة تقييم المحتوى.
  2. المؤلفون المؤهلون هم من أعضاء هيئة التدريس أو من الباحثين الخرّجين من طلبة الماجستير والدكتوراه.
  3. تقوم وحدة ترجمة البحوث بفحص النسخة المترجمة من البحث بقصد التحرير النهائي.
  4. تدعم وحدة ترجمة البحوث العمل المشترك لأكثر من مؤلف.
  5. تقدم وحدة ترجمة البحوث، بعد موافقة لجنة تقييم المحتوى، خدمة التحرير للبحوث العلمية المكتوبة باللغة الإنجليزية والمقّدمة من أعضاء هيئة التدريس والطلبة من الكليات التالية: كلية الشريعة والدراسات الإسلامية وكلّية القانون وكلّية الآداب والعلوم الإنسانية والاجتماعية وكذلك كلية الاتصال.​