Sign In

Our People

  

Director
Name: Prof. Shehdeh Fareh
Academic Rank: Professor
E-mail: shfareh@sharjah.ac.ae
Tel: +971 6 5053317
Degree:  Ph.D. in Linguistics, University of Kansas, 1988.
Research Interests: Contrastive linguistics, discourse analysis, translation, TEFL/TESL
 
Assistant Directors
 
Name: Eleni Pithis - WC
Academic Rank: Instructor
E-mail: epithis@sharjah.ac.ae
Tel: +971 6 505 3227
Degree: Master’s LINGUISTICS (TESOL)
Research Interests:
student/teacher interactions
Name: Suzan Wadi - MC
Academic Rank: Lecturer
E-mail: swadi@sharjah.ac.ae
Tel: +971 6 505 0261
Degree:Masters of Education
Research interests: Teacher Development, Sociolinguistics and Critical discourse analysis
 
 Program Coordinators
Name: Dr. Amira Traish (Foundation Program Coordinator)
Academic Rank: 
E-mail: atraish@sharjah.ac.ae
Tel: +971 6 505 3244 
Degree:EdD TESOL British University/ MA English Akron University
Research Interests:
ESL/TESOL Using 1st language in teaching the 2nd language
Name: Daniel Blackman (Preparatory)
Academic Rank: Academic Coordinator/Instructor
E-mail: dblackman@sharjah.ac.ae
Tel: +971 6 505 0228
Degree: BA English and America Literature; MA Applied Linguistics
Research Interests:
Teacher Training; Independent Learning; Course book design and evaluation
Name: Shabnam Fatima (Speciall Skills)
Academic Rank: Instructor
E-mail: shabnamf@sharjah.ac.ae
Tel: +971 6 505 0668
Degree: MA
Research interests: Assessment, Writing and Vocabulary acquisition
 
 
 
Campus Coordinators
 
Name: Dr Suleiman Hassan - EZ
Academic Rank: Instructor
E-mail: shussein@sharjah.ac.ae
Tel: +971 9 208 5289
Degree: PhD in TESOL
Research interests: Language skills and teacher development
 
Name: Yasser Salem​ - CC
Academic Rank: Instructor
E-mail: y.salem@sharjah.ac.ae
Tel: +971 6 505 7936 
Degree: MA TEFL/University of Reading/UK
Research interests: Process Writing, Language Acquisition, and Teacher Education
 
Teaching Staff
 
 
Name: Abdul Fatah Dimassi
Academic Rank: Lecturer
E-mail: a_dimassi@sharjah.ac.ae
Tel: +971 9 208 5286
Degree: MA TESOL
Research Interests:
​ classroom research, cognitive linguistics, psycholinguistics
Name: Dr Abulgasem Shagmani
Academic Rank: Lecturer
E-mail: ashagmani@sharjah.ac.ae
Tel: +971 9 208 5145
Degree: PhD
Research Interests:
​ Applied Aspects of Language & Communication, Language Teaching, Translation & Interpreting English/Arabic/English

Name: Amal Khalil Thabit
Academic Rank: Instructor
E-mail: akhalil@sharjah.ac.ae
Tel:
+971 6 505 3264

Degree: Masters in TESOL
Research Interests:
​ Bilingual Teaching and Learning / Formative Assessment

Name: Ambreen Zehra
Academic Rank: Instructor
E-mail: azehra@sharjah.ac.ae
Tel: +971 6 505 7941
Degree: MA. TESOL
Research Interests:
​Reflective Teaching and Students’ Motivation  
Name: Dr. Amira Traish
Academic Rank: Instructor/Coordinator
E-mail: atraish@sharjah.ac.ae
Tel: +971 6 505 3244
Degree: EdD TESOL British University/ MA English Akron University
Research Interests:
​ ESL/TESOL Using 1st language in teaching the 2nd language
Name: Dr Asmaa Awad
Academic Rank: Lecturer
E-mail: aawad@sharjah.ac.ae
Tel: +971 6 505 0259
Degree:  PhD in English Language and Literature
Research Interests:
​ Education Technology/ Teacher Development/ Comparative Literature
Name: ​Ann Chebbo
Academic Rank: Lecturer and Translator
E-mail: achebbo@sharjah.ac.ae
Tel: +971 6 505 3009
Degree:MEd (TESOL), MA Arabic/English Translation and Interpreting, BS. Languages (Arabic) and Linguistics
Research Interests:
​ Arabic English Linguistics and Text Analysis
Name: Anthony  Munday
Academic Rank: Instructor
E-mail: tonymunday@sharjah.ac.ae
Tel: +971 6 505
0237
Degree: Master’s in TESOL
Research Interests:
​ L1 influences, vocabulary acquisition methods, lifelong learning 
Name: Awni Abdulhadi
Academic Rank: Lecturer
E-mail: amustafa@sharjah.ac.ae
Tel: +971 6 505 7942
Degree: MA in English Language- Linguistics
Research Interests:
​ Sociolinguistics, Semantics and Translation
Name: Ayman Za'tar
Academic Rank: Lecturer
E-mail: ayman@sharjah.ac.ae
Tel: +971 6 505 7945
Degree: Master of Arts \ Translation and Interpreting
Research Interests:
​ Methodology of Teaching English Language and Grammar
Name: Daniel Blackman
Academic Rank: Academic Coordinator/Instructor
E-mail: dblackman@sharjah.ac.ae
Tel: +971 6 505 0228
Degree: BA English and America Literature; MA Applied Linguistics
Research Interests:
​ Teacher Training; Independent Learning; Course book design and evaluation
Name: Domenic Fumo
Academic Rank: Lecturer
E-mail: dfumo@sharjah.ac.ae
Tel: +971 6 505 
3227
Degree: MA, MLIS
Research Interests:
​ Pragmatism, Educational Technology
Name: ​Douglas Rapley
Academic Rank: Lecturer
E-mail: drapley@sharjah.ac.ae
Tel: +971 6 505 0240
Degree: Masters of Arts in Second Language Teaching
Research Interests:
​ International students, Study Abroad, ESL, Research techniques
Name: Eleni Pithis
Academic Rank: Instructor
E-mail: epithis@sharjah.ac.ae
Tel: +971 6 505 3227
Degree: Master’s LINGUISTICS (TESOL)
Research Interests:
​ student/teacher interactions
Name: Eric Lindemann
Academic Rank: Lecturer
E-mail: elindemann@sharjah.ac.ae
Tel: +971 6 505 0291
Degree: METSL
Research Interests:
Second Language Acquisition
Name: Fadwa Sleiman
Academic Rank: Instructor
E-mail: fadwa@sharjah.ac.ae
Tel: +971 6 505 0665
Degree: MEd in TESOL
Research Interests:
​ The Effect of Social Networks Use on Academic Performance
Name: Fatima Tanveer
Academic Rank: Instructor
E-mail: ftanveer@sharjah.ac.ae
Tel: +971 9 208 5286
Degree: MA in English
Research Interests:
​ IT in teaching/Learning: web. 2 tools, online learning, mobile apps., blended and digital learning.
Name: Dr Firoz Nalakath
Academic Rank: Instructor
E-mail: fnalakath@sharjah.ac.ae
Tel: +971 9 208 5138
Degree: PhD in English
Research Interests:
​ Second Language Acquisition (SLA), ELT, applied linguistics, Blended Learning and CALL
Name: Habiba Dhaouadi
Academic Rank: Instructor
E-mail: hdhaouadi@sharjah.ac.ae
Tel: +971 6 505 3279
Degree:Master’s in Tesol
Research Interests:
Reading Strategies and Bilingualism among Young Arab Learners
Name: Hichem Aouina
Academic Rank: Instructor
E-mail: haouina@sharjah.ac.ae
Tel: +971 9 238 7666
Degree:PhD in Linguistics
Research Interests:
​ Sociolinguistics-Language Policy- Globalisation-Applied Linguistics
Name: Iman Mikalif
Academic Rank: Instructor
E-mail: imikalif@sharjah.ac.ae
Tel: +971 6 505 7940
Degree: M.A. in Linguistics
Research Interests:
​ Linguistic aspects of translation
Name: Joseph O'Reilly
Academic Rank: Instructor
E-mail: oreilly@sharjah.ac.ae
Tel: +971 6 505 3263
Degree:MA TESOL
Research Interests:
​ Cultural diversity, Learning styles, Learner autonomy
Name: ​John Senior
Academic Rank: Instructor
E-mail: jsenior@sharjah.ac.ae
Tel: +971 6 505 3259
Degree: PhD
Research Interests:
​ bilingual teaching and learning
Name: Mohamad Molhim
Academic Rank: Instructor
E-mail: mmolhim@sharjah.ac.ae
Tel: +971 9 238 7666
Degree:Master of Arts in International English Language Teaching and Applied Language Studies.
Research Interests:
​ Motivation, Learner autonomy,  innovative English teaching strategies, classroom-based research and CALL.
Name: Mohammed Amir Samimi
Academic Rank: Instructor
E-mail: msamimi@sharjah.ac.ae
Tel: +971 6 505 7944
Degree: Master of Philosophy (M.Phil) in Linguistics & Grammar, University of Glasgow, UK (1998 )
Research Interests:
​ Linguistics & Grammar
Name: Mohammad Nour
Academic Rank: Instructor
E-mail: Mabu-gub@sharjah.ac.ae
Tel: +971 9 238 7666
Degree: MA in Linguistics
Research interests: Phonetics and phonology
Name: Mohammed Samy
Academic Rank:
E-mail: mshublaq@sharjah.ac.ae
Tel: +971 6 505 7944
Degree:
Research Interests:
Name: Nadia Al Subari
Academic Rank: Instructor
E-mail: anadia@sharjah.ac.ae
Tel: +971 6 505 0279
Degree:MA in ESL
Research interests:  Traditional Versus Modern Teaching Methods
Name: Nahed Mowaket
Academic Rank: Lecturer
E-mail: nmowaket@sharjah.ac.ae
Tel: +971 6 505 0271
Degree: MA Applied Linguistics
Research interests: Teaching English as a Second Language, Material Development for Second Language Learners of English, Methodology: Teaching language skills (listening, speaking, reading, writing), and Computers in Language Learning.
Name: Nevine El-Gazzar
Academic Rank: Instructor
E-mail: ngazzar@sharjah.ac.ae
Tel: +971 6 505 3249
Degree: Master’s in TESOL and Master’s in Instructional Technology
Research interests: ESL, Instructional Technology, Mobile Technology, Instructional Technology and Creativity
Name: Rasha Al Okaily
Academic Rank: Instructor
E-mail: ralokaily@sharjah.ac.ae
Tel: +971 6 505 3265
Degree: MA in Applied Linguistics
Research interests: Instructional Technology
Name: Salam Sammour
Academic Rank: Instructor
E-mail: ssammour@sharjah.ac.ae
Tel: +971 6 505 2267
Degree: : MA in TESOL
Research Interests:
​ bilingualism, exam skills and teaching methodologies
Name: ​Sally Ann McQuinn
Academic Rank: Visiting Professor
E-mail:
Tel: +971 9 505 8244
Degree: : M.A. TESOL
Research Interests:
​ Intercultural Communication, Ed Tech, Communicative language teaching, Sociolinguistics
Name: ​Sheri Gangluff
Academic Rank: Lecturer
E-mail: sgangluff@sharjah.ac.ae
Tel: +971 6 505 7939
Degree: : Master of Arts in Theoretical and Applied Linguistics and TESL/TEFL
Research Interests:
​ Reading Development in Second Language Learners; Grammar Instructional Methodology; Sociolinguistics
Name: ​Scott Lauder
Academic Rank: Lecturer
E-mail: slauder@sharjah.ac.ae
Tel: +971 6 505 7946 
Degree: : Master of Arts (Social Sciences), PGCE (Primary Education), Master of Education (English Language Teaching) 
Research Interests:
​ Student motivation and performance
Name: Dr Saleh Saafin
Academic Rank: Instructor
E-mail: saleh@sharjah.ac.ae
Tel: +971 6 505 0241
Degree: : Ph. D. in TEFL from Exeter University in England
Research Interests:
​ Effective teaching and language testing
Name: Dr Scott Ayler
Academic Rank: Instructor
E-mail: sayler@sharjah.ac.ae
Tel: +971 6 505 3254
Degree: : PhD, M. Ed., M.A.
Research interests: Best Practice in EFL/ Culture and Language
Name: Shabnam Fatima
Academic Rank: Instructor
E-mail: shabnamf@sharjah.ac.ae
Tel: +971 6 505 0668
Degree: MA
Research interests: Assessment, Writing and Vocabulary acquisition
Name: Dr Suleiman Hassan
Academic Rank: Instructor
E-mail: shussein@sharjah.ac.ae
Tel: +971 9 208 5289
 Degree: PhD in TESOL
Research interests: Language skills and teacher development
Name: Suzan Wadi
Academic Rank: Lecturer
E-mail: swadi@sharjah.ac.ae
Tel: +971 6 505 0261
Degree Masters of Education
Research interests: Teacher Development, Sociolinguistics and Critical discourse analysis

Name: Warren Lilley
Academic Rank: Lecturer
E-mail: wlilly@sharjah.ac.ae
Tel: +971 6 505 0221
Degree:  Masters in Education (Applied Language and Literacy)
Research Interests:
​ Mobile and Computer Assisted Language Learning (MALL/ CALL), Socio-cultural Activity Theory, Critical Discourse Analysis, Critical Pedagogy, Teacher Development and Multimodal Literacy(ies)
​​Name: Yasser Salem
Academic Rank: Instructor
E-mail: y.salem@sharjah.ac.ae
Tel: +971 6 505 7936 
Degree: MA TEFL/University of Reading/UK
Research interests: Process Writing, Language Acquisition, and Teacher Education
 
Administrative Staff
Name: Babu Thayyil – ELC Secretary
E-mail: babu@sharjah.ac.ae
Tel: +971 6 505 0428
Name: Mohammed Abdul Aleem
E-mail:  maleem@sharjah.ac.ae
Tel:  +971 6 505 0269
Name: Khader Savad 
E-mail: ksavad@sharjah.ac.ae
Tel: +971 6 505 0248
​​Name: Muzzafar Ibrahim
E-mail: muibrahim@sharjah.ac.ae
Tel: +971 6 505 0646