Sign In
  • A-
  • A
  • A+
  • ع
  • A-
  • A
  • A+
  • ع
  • Community ServicesMore
  • Quality ResearchMore
  • LC MS Analytical LabMore
  • Undergraduate ResearchMore
  • Post Graduate StudentsMore
  • Post Graduate Students Thesis Defense DayMore
Research Groups

​RIMHS Research Groups 

Drug Design and Discovery

Group Coordinator: Dr. Raafat El Awady (

Group Members: 

Prof. Taleb AlTel, College of Pharmacy
Dr. Mohamad Harb, College of Pharmacy
Dr. Hani Omar, College of Pharmacy
Dr. Hamadeh Tarazi, College of Pharmacy
Dr. Imad Abu Yousef, American University of Sharjah 

Dr. Wael Rabeh, NYU-AD

Tissue Injury and Repair 

Group Coordinator: Prof. Qutayba Hamid (

Group Members:

Dr. Ahmed El-Serafy, College of Medicine
Dr. Adel Al-Moseilhy, College of Medicine  
Dr. Bashair Moussa, College of Medicine  
Dr. Maha Gumei, College of Medicine

Prof. Mohamed Al-Hajjaj, College of Medicine 
Prof. Azzam Magazachi, College of Medicine  

Iron Biology

Group Coordinator: Dr. Mawieh Hamad (

Group Members:

Dr. Samir Awadallah, College of Health Sciences
Dr. Ahmad El Serafi, College of Medicine
Dr. Jalal Taneera, College of Medicine

Dr. Mohammad Ghaleb Mohammad, College of Health Sciences 

Environment and Cancer Research

Group Coordinator: Dr. Wael Hassan (

Group Members:

Dr Maha Mohamed Saber Ayad, College of Medicine
Dr Iman M. Talaat, College of Medicine
Dr Eman F. M. Abu Gharbia, College of Medicine
Dr. Moez Al Islam, College of Health Sciences
Dr. Ayssar Nahle, College of Health Sciences
Dr. Semrein Ahmad, College of Medicine

Dr. Sondos Harfil, College of Health Sciences 

Wound Healing & Oral Diagnosis

Group Coordinator: Prof. Rani Samsudin (

Group Members:

Dr. Sausan Al Kawas, College of Dentistry
Dr. Natheer AlRawi, College of Dentistry
Dr. Wael Talaat, College of Dentistry
Dr. Suhail Al Amed, College of Dentistry
Dr. Ahmad Osman, College of Dentistry
Dr. Saad Wahbi, College of Dentistry
Dr. Ali Qabbani, College of Dentistry
Dr. Elaf Zubaidi, College of Dentistry
Dr. Basheer Salman, College of Dentistry

Dr. Eman Mustafa, College of Dentistry

Dental Biomaterials

Group Coordinator:  Prof. Mehmet Omar Gorduysus (

Group Members:

Prof. Hien Chi Ngo, College of Dentistry 
Prof. Rani Samuiddin, College of Dentistry 
Dr. Betul Rahman, College of Dentistry 
Dr. Vellore Gopinath
Dr. Hatem Al Damanhoury
Dr. Sheela Abraham
Dr. Saaid AL Shahedat
Dr. Nadia Khalifa
Dr. Adel Moufti
Dr. Hisham Al Batawi
Dr. Mohammed Kishawi
Dr. Shadi Al Khatib
Dr. Waad Khader
Dr. Sara Jaser

Nutrition and Food Research

Group Coordinator: Dr. Reyad Shaker Obaid (

Group Members:

Prof. Tareq Osaili, College of Health Sciences
Dr. Hadia Radwan, College of Health Sciences
Dr. "Mo'ez AL-Islam" Faris, College of Health Sciences
Dr. Leila Cheikh Ismail, College of Health Sciences
Dr. Hayder Hasan, College of Health Sciences
Ms. Mona Hashim, College of Health Sciences
Dr. Hessa Ghazal, Maternal and Child Health Center- Sharjah
Dr. Mutamed Ayyash, College of Food & Agriculture, United Arab Emirates University

Dr. Dineshkumar Dhanasekaran, RIMHS 

Health Promotion Research Group

Group Coordinator: Dr. Wegdan Bani Issa (

Group Members:

Dr. Nabeel Al Yateem, College of Health Sciences
Dr. Sana Hasan, Ajman University
Dr. Manal Awad, College of Dentistry
Dr. Hadia Radwan, College of Health Sciences
Dr. Hasan Al-Omari, College of Health Sciences
Dr. Lori Marie Walton, College of Health Sciences
Randa Fakhry, College of Health Sciences

Arwa Al-Shujairi, Research Institute of Medical and Health Sciences 

Improving Health Care Delivery and Medicines Use

Group Coordinator: Dr. Hamza Al Zubaidi (

Group Members:

Prof  Colette Browning, Director of RDNS Institute, Royal District Nursing Service
Dr. Kevin Mc Namara, Health Postdoctoral Senior Research Fellow, School of Medicine, Deakin University, Australia
Dr. Abduelmola Abduelkareem, College of Pharmacy
Dr. Osama H. Ibrahim, College of Pharmacy
Dr. Rana M. Ibrahim, College of Pharmacy

Dr. Rand Hussein, College of Pharmacy 

Diabetes and Metabolic Syndrome

Group Coordinator: Prof Nabil Sulaiman  (

Group Members:

Dr.  Samir Awadallah, College of Medicine
Dr. Haydar Hasan, College of Pharmacy
Dr. Bashair Mussa, College of Medicine
Dr. Jalal Taneer, College of Medicine
Dr. Veena Raigangar

Abdul Khader Mohammed, Research Institute of Medical and Health Sciences

Oral Biofilms in Health and Disease 

Group Coordinator: Prof Lakshman Samaranayake (

Group Members:

Prof. Hien Ngo, College of Dentistry
Prof. Rani Smasudin, College of Dentistry
Prof. Mehmet Omer Gorduysus, College of Dentistry  

Dr. Chamila Panduwawala  

Infectious Disease and Anti-Infective Therapy

Group Coordinator: Prof. Ayman Noreddin (

Group Members:

Dr. Sameh Soliman, College of Pharmacy 
Dr. Ghalia Khoder, College of Pharmacy
Dr. Raed AbuOdeh, College of Health Sciences 
Dr. Ibrahim Abdel Mahmoud, College of Medicine
Dr. Khalil Abdelmawgoud, College of Engineering 

Dr. Khalid Ramadan, College of Engineering 

Bioinformatics and Functional Genomics 

Group Coordinator: Dr. Rifat Hamoudi (

Group Members:
Dr. Hassen Haj Kacem (co-coordinator), College of Sciences 
Dr. Iman Talaat, College of Medicine 
Dr. Samrein Ahmed, College of Medicine 
Dr. Ahmed Khedr, College of Sciences 
Dr. Riyad Bendardaf, University Hospital Sharjah
Dr. Salah Abusnana, University Hospital Sharjah  
Dr. Maha Saber Ayad, College of Medicine
Prof. Salman Guraya, College of Medicine

Gene Editing & Therapy

Group Coordinator: Dr. Mohamed Rahmani (

Group Members:
Dr. Khalid Bajou, College of Science
Dr. Hany Omar, College of Pharmacy
Dr. Firdos Ahmad, College of Medicine
Dr. Bassam Mahboub, College of Medicine
Dr. Raafat A.E. El-Awady, College of Pharmacy


Group Coordinator: Dr. Azzam A. Magazachi  (