Sign In
  • A-
  • A
  • A+
  • ع
  • A-
  • A
  • A+
  • ع
List 'Banner Items' does not exist at site with URL ''.

H.H. Sheikh Sultan Al Qasimi Issues Administrative Resolution on Formation of UoS Board of Trustees

​22 January 2018

His Highness Sheikh Dr. Sultan Al Qasimi, Member of the Supreme Council Ruler of Sharjah, in his capacity as President of the University of Sharjah (UoS), issued Administrative Resolution No. 1 of 2018 on Formation of UoS Board of Trustees.

The administrative resolution stipulates that, the UoS Board of Trustees in its new session shall be headed by H.H. Sheikh Dr. Sultan Al Qasimi, Member of the Supreme Council Ruler of Sharjah and President of UoS. Members of the Board of Trustees will be as follows:

1- Dr. Obaid Al Muhairi, Former Executive Dean of Arabic Language and UAE Studies, Higher Colleges of Technology.

2- Mr. Mohammed Abdullah, CEO - Sharjah Islamic Bank.

3- Dr. Tariq Bin Khadim, Chairman of the Directorate of Human Resources – Government of Sharjah.

4- Dr. Eng. Rashid Al Leem, Chairman of the Sharjah Electricity and Water Authority.

5- Dr. Muhadditha Al Hashimi, Director of the Sharjah Women's College, Higher Colleges of Technology.

6- Mr. Ahmed Al Rasheed, Attorney and Legal Advisor.

7- Mrs. Noura Al Noman, Chairman of the Executive Office of H.H. Sheikha Jawaher Bint Mohammed Al Qasimi.

8- Prof. Jacques Frémont, President and Vice-Chancellor of the University of Ottawa.

9- Prof. Guenter Meyer, Director of the Centre for Research on the Arab World (CERAW) at the University of Mainz, Germany, Chairman of the German Middle East Studies Association (DAVO), President of the European Association for Middle East Studies (EURAMES) and Chairman of the International Advisory Council of the World Congress for Middle Eastern Studies (WOCMES).

10- Prof. Omar M. Yaghi, Professor of Chemistry at the University of California, Berkeley, USA.

11- Prof. Kamal Youcef-Toumi, Professor of Electronics Engineering and Co-Director of the Center for Clean Water and Energy at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT), USA.

12- Prof. Mohamed H. Sayegh, MD., Vice President for Medical Affairs and Dean of the College of Medicine at the American University of Beirut (AUB), Lebanon.

13- Prof. Abdallah I. Husein Malkawi, Chancellor, Fahad Bin Sultan University, KSA.

14- Prof. Martin Barstow, Pro-Vice-Chancellor Strategic Science Projects, Director of the Leicester Institute of Space & Earth Observation, and Professor of Astrophysics and Space Science at the University of Leicester, UK.

15- Prof. Hamid M.K. Al Naimiy, Chancellor of the University of Sharjah (UoS) and President of the Arab Union for Astronomy and Space Sciences (AUASS).

The resolution set the term of membership of the Board of Trustees (BOT) to three years, renewable for similar term(s). In addition, it is permissible to re-appoint BOT members whose membership expired.

The administrative resolution shall be implemented by authorities concerned in accordance with the provisions therein as of date of issuance, and shall be published in the official gazette. 

« Back to list