Chair's Welcome
Welcome to the Department of Oral and Craniofacial Health Sciences, College of Dental Medicine, University of Sharjah.

In the Department we aim to provide a stimulating and enjoyable study environment for our dental students to engender a desire for life long education. This environment is created through a team of excellent educators with various teaching and research backgrounds across a wide range of disciplines.

Our curriculum is delivered  in a problem-based learning approach as well as formal lectures with great emphasis on contextual learning of relevant scientific information throughout the program. The Department offers dynamic and innovative learning and teaching opportunities across two main streams.

These major streams are the basics of dental practice: Human Biology and Dental Health Sciences.

The Human Biology stream aims to provide an overview of the biology of the human species, a basic knowledge of classical and molecular genetics, and an introduction to the anatomy of the human body at the gross and histological levels. At the second level, this stream includes topics related to human structure and function, anatomy of the head and neck and, neuroanatomy. This leads to the third level of this stream that includes topics dealing with the nature and causes of human disease and their manifestation at the cellular, organ and clinical levels.

The Dental and Health Science stream emphasizes the scientific basis of dentistry and covers oral anatomy, preventive dentistry, and the dentist-patient relationship. It also covers oral histology and embryology, oral biochemistry, dental occlusion, masticatory function and disorder, human growth and development, and orthodontics. Dental and Health Science covers aspects of pharmacology, medicine and surgery related to Dental Practice.

These streams are integrated and form the basis for each PBL case. This occurs concurrently with the development of clinical skills in various technical and clinical areas of dentistry, which begins from day one in Dental Clinical Practice stream. The faculty in our Department therefore contribute to both basic dental sciences and clinical educ​at​ion.

Prof. Sausan Al Kawas ,DDS,MSc, PhD,FICD
Head of Department of Oral & Craniofacial Health Sciences.H
Head of Internship & Residency Programs
C
Co

كلمة رئيس القسم

مرحبا بكم في قسم صحة الفم والقحف الوجهي بكلية طب الأسنان، جامعة الشارقة.

 

هدفنا في القسم تقديم بيئة دراسية محفزة لطلبة الكلية بما يولد لديهم رغبةً في الاستمرار بالتعلم مدى الحياة. هذه البيئة نشأت من خلال فريق من المدرسين المتميزين ذوي الخبرات الطويلة في التدريس والبحث العلمي في نطاق واسع من التخصصات.

 

يتم تدريس المناهج الدراسية في القسم بأسلوب التعلم القائم على حل المشكلات، وأيضا من خلال المحاضرات مع تركيز كبير على أسلوب التعلم الذاتي و المستمر وذلك في كافة مراحل البرنامج. ويوفر القسم فرصاً حيوية ومبتكرة في التعليم والتعلم عبر مسارين رئيسين

 

يمثل هذان المساران الرئيسيان الأساسيات الجوهرية لممارسة طب الأسنان وهما: علوم الأحياء البشرية وعلوم صحة الأسنان.

 

يهدف مسار علم الأحياء البشرية إلى تقديم نبذة حول علم الأحياء للجنس البشري والمعلومات الأساسية لعلم الوراثة و الطب الجزيئي . كما يقدم المسار مدخلا إلى علم تشريح جسم الإنسان على مستويي التشريح الوصفي والتشريح الهستولوجي. وفي المستوى الثاني، يتضمن هذا المسار موضوعات ذات صلة بتركيب الجسم البشري ووظائف الأعضاء وتشريح الرأس والعنق والجهاز العصبي. وهذا يقود إلى المستوى الثالث من هذا المسار الذي يتضمن موضوعات تتعامل مع طبيعة وأسباب الأمراض البشرية واكتشاف أعراضها على مستوى الخلية والعضو وعلى المستوى الإكلينيكي.

 

ويركز مسار علم صحة الأسنان على الأساس العلمي لطب الأسنان ويغطي تشريح الفم، وطب الأسنان الوقائي، وعلاقة طبيب الأسنان بالمريض. كما يغطي علم الأنسجة الفموية وعلم الأجنة والكيمياء الحيوية الفموية واطباق الأسنان والوظيفة المضغية واضطراباتها ونمو وتطور الإنسان والعظام و خاصة عظام الوجه و الفكين و علاقتها بالاسنان. كما يغطي مسار علم صحة الأسنان جوانب من علم الادوية والطب والجراحة ذات الصلة بممارسة طب الأسنان.

 

يتكامل هذان المساران معاً ليشكلان معاً الأساس لأسلوب التعلم القائم على حل المشكلات وذلك تزامناً مع تطوير المهارات الإكلينيكية في المجالات العملية والإكلينيكية المتعددة لطب الأسنان. ويبدأ انتهاج هذا الأسلوب من اليوم الأول للدراسة في مسار الممارسة الإكلينيكية لطب الأسنان



أ. د. سوسن القواص
رئيس قسم صحة الفم و القحف الوجهي 

 

 

​​​​​​