Sign In
  • A-
  • A
  • A+
  • ع
  • A-
  • A
  • A+
  • ع
Department of History and Islamic Civilization
Skip Navigation Links.
Chair Welcome

 

Welcome to the Department of History and Islamic Civilization of the College of Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences. The study in this department is among the most important disciplines as it contains examples and lessons for humanity.

In studying History and Islam Civilization revolves around Islam as World History because of the nature of Islam as a universal religion that forms the scope of historiography or the way of looking at history as reformation of mankind through the Messengers, unity, cohesion in diversity and continuous contribute and meaning for all mankind.

The elements of History as a comprehensive result towards Civilization leads to the emergence among the diversity of cultures of peoples of the world the permeation of the basic elements of a "religion" in which those peoples have caused to emerge from within themselves. The process by which such emergence comes about is called 'refinement and development', and in this case is called Islamic Civilization, which is reflected as the liberation first from magical, mythical, animistic and ethnic cultural tradition incompatible with Islam, and then from secular control over one's reason and one's language. Whatever basic and praiseworthy elements of the pre-Islamic civilization that bind people together and are accepted as compatible with Islam become part of Islamic civilization. It is a living civilization whose pulse describes a process of religion, not in the dialectical sense of an evolutionary 'development', but in the sense of a progress involving every generation of Muslim towards realization of the original nature and spirit of Islam as something already established in history; in the sense of an unfolding of the theoretical and practical principles of Islam in the life of the people; in the sense of an actualization of the essentials and potentials of Islam in the realms of existence. This progress, unfolding, and actualization depend upon the levels of knowledge of Islam, of intellectual and cultural attainment of the peoples in which the progress, unfolding and actualization occur. Islamic Civilization is therefore a manifestation of unity in diversity as well as of diversity in unity.

Based on the above conceptual aims, the Department of History and Islamic Civilization develops scientific forms and social interaction. It offers students the most significant courses which help them understand their actual present and their past. Among the courses offered are Islamic History, Islamic History of Science, Islamic Civilization, and Islamic City, History of Islamic Education, Atlas of the Muslim World, World History, History of the Arab Gulf, etc. Courses offered mainly in Arabic, but serves the university in various levels and courses in English, and if the needs are required in various current world languages.
In addition, besides the programme of History and Islamic Civilization, the Department has two major programmes namely "Tourist Guide" and "Museum Studies and Art History" that serves the current needs locally and internationally. In this respect, UNESCO awarded Sharjah the Capital of Islamic Culture in 2014. 
Currently, our department offers Master's Program (MA) in which students conduct scientific research in "History and Islamic Civilization."
Our department comprises of professors in history, civilizations, tourism, museum studies, arts, and other related academic fields. In this case, the University of Sharjah guarantees to be among the best teaching and learning practices by providing students with all needed modern facilities, and also by encouraging faculty members to conduct scientific research and participate in local, regional and international conferences.
The future of the Department of History and Islamic Civilization is highly promising with the support of His Highness Sheikh Dr. Sultan Bin Mohammad Al-Qasimi, Member of the Supreme Council, Ruler of Sharjah, and President of the University of Sharjah. 

 
Blessings,


Prof. Dr. Mesut Idriz

Chair, Department of History and Islamic Civilization

تسجيل الدخول
  • E
  • ع+
  • ع
  • ع-
  • E
  • ع+
  • ع
  • ع-

كلمة رئيس القسم

 

مرحبا بكم في قسم التاريخ والحضارة الإسلامية بكلية الآداب والعلوم الإنسانية والاجتماعية. تعد الدراسة في هذا القسم من أهم التخصصات لاحتوائها على أمثلة ودروس للبشرية.

تدور دراسة التاريخ والحضارة الإسلامية  حول الإسلام كتاريخ عالمي نظرًا لطبيعة الإسلام كدين عالمي حيث يشكل الاسلام نطاق علم التأريخ أو طريقة دراسة التاريخ باعتباره إصلاحًا للبشرية من خلال الرسل والوحدة والتماسك برغم التنوع وكمساهمة مستمرة تضيف معنى للبشرية جمعاء.

تؤدي عناصر التاريخ  - كنتيجة شاملة للحضارة-  إلى تغلغل العناصر الأساسية لـلدين بين مختلف ثقافات شعوب العالم. وتسمى العملية التي يتم من خلالها ظهور هذا التغلغل "التهذيب والتطوير" ، وفي هذه الحالة تسمى الحضارة الإسلامية ، والتي تمثل التحرر أولاً من التقاليد الثقافية السحرية والأسطورية والروحية والثنية التي لا تتوافق مع الإسلام ، ثم من السيطرة العلمانية على عقل ولغة الفرد . ومن هنا تصبح أية عناصر أساسية فضيلة للحضارات السابقة للإسلام والتي تتوافق مع الإسلام وتربط الناس ببعضهم البعض جزأ من الحضارة الإسلامية.  إنها حضارة حية يصف نبضها عملية الدين ، ليس بالمعنى الجدلي " للتقدم التطوري" ، ولكن بمعنى التقدم الذي يشارك فيه كل جيل من المسلمين نحو إدراك الطبيعة الأصلية وروح الإسلام كشيء ثابت في التاريخ: وبمعنى الكشف عن المبادئ النظرية والعملية للإسلام في حياة الناس ؛ وبمعنى تحقيق أساسيات وإمكانات الإسلام في عوالم الوجود. يعتمد هذا التقدم والكشف والتحقيق على مستويات المعرفة في الإسلام والتحصيل الفكري والثقافي للشعوب التي يحدث فيها التقدم والكشف والتحقيق. الحضارة الإسلامية هي إذن تجسيد للوحدة برغم التنوع وكذلك  التنوع في اطار الوحدة.

بناءً على الأهداف المفاهيمية المذكورة أعلاه ، يقوم قسم التاريخ والحضارة الإسلامية بتطوير الأشكال العلمية والتفاعل الاجتماعي. ويقدم للطلاب أهم المساقات التي تساعدهم على فهم حاضرهم الفعلي وماضيهم. من بين المساقات المقدمة: التاريخ الإسلامي ، التاريخ الإسلامي للعلوم ، الحضارة الإسلامية ، المدينة الإسلامية ، تاريخ التعليم الإسلامي ، أطلس العالم الإسلامي ، تاريخ العالم، تاريخ الخليج العربي ، إلخ.  تدرس المساقات أساساً باللغة العربية ، بالإضافة الى مساقات اخرى في مختلف المستويات باللغة الإنجليزية ، وبمختلف لغات العالم المعاصرة إذا دعت الحاجة.

 إلى جانب برنامج التاريخ والحضارة الإسلامية ، فلدى القسم برنامجان رئيسيان هما "الارشاد السياحي" و "دراسات المتاحف وتاريخ الفن" الذي يخدم الاحتياجات الحالية محليًا ودوليًا. في هذا الصدد،  يجدر التذكير بأنه تم اختيار إمارة الشارقة عاصمة  للثقافة الإسلامية في عام 2014 من قبل منظمة الأمم المتحدة للتربية والعلم والثقافة «اليونسكو». ومن المأمول أن يتم قريبًا طرح برنامج "التوثيق والدراسات الأرشيفية".

حاليا ، يقدم قسمنا برنامج الماجستير وكذلك الدكتوراه في "التاريخ والحضارة الإسلامية" حيث يقوم الطلاب بإجراء البحوث العلمية.

يتكون قسمنا من أساتذة في التاريخ والحضارة والسياحة ودراسة المتاحف والفنون وغيرها من المجالات الأكاديمية ذات الصلة. ومن هنا ، تضمن جامعة الشارقة أن تكون من بين أفضل الجامعات في ممارسات التعليم والتعلم من خلال تزويد الطلاب بجميع المرافق الحديثة اللازمة ، وكذلك من خلال تشجيع أعضاء هيئة التدريس على إجراء البحوث العلمية والمشاركة في المؤتمرات المحلية والإقليمية والدولية.

إن لقسم التاريخ والحضارة الإسلامية لمستقبل واعد جدا وذلك بفضل دعم صاحب السمو الشيخ الدكتور سلطان بن محمد القاسمي ، عضو المجلس الأعلى حاكم الشارقة رئيس جامعة الشارقة.

بوركتم.

أ. د. مسعود إدريس

رئيس قسم التاريخ والحضارة الإسلامية