Department Overview

Vision

The Department of Arabic Language and Literature aims to promote the Arabic language to the standards it deserves among the other languages of the world, and to grant Bachelor, Master, and Doctoral Degrees to Arabic Language specialists whose skills and expertiese will meet the needs of the Emirati community in particular and the Arab, and international community in general. The department offers students high standards of education and knowledge in order to strengthen their thinking  and constructive criticism skills.   The Department is in the process of developing a new Bachelor program in Arabic Language and Applied Media, and to establish the Center of Arabic Language for Non-Speakers.

 

Mission

The Arabic Language program works towards deepening loyalty towards the Arabic Language, the language of the Holy Quran and the authentic Arab heritage. Our graduates are fluent in Arabic language reading, writing, speaking and listening; they pride themselves in their Arab and Islamic identity and they are capable of facing the challenges of our present time. They have a strong sense of belonging to their community and they are highly qualified to serve this community, which is among the primary objectives of the university, the college, and the department.

 

Objectives

  1. Offering students linguistic, syntactic and morphological knowledge, and the means to understand and apply this knowledge in practical ways, while improving their basic Arabic language skills (reading, writing, listening, and speaking) in order to be able to accomplish their professional and personal goals
  2. Enabling students to think, critique, and analyze correctly while developing their creative linguistic and literary skills and strengthening their belief in the Arab legacy
  3. Providing students with  sound  knowledge pertaining to rhetorical, literary, and critical Arabic language skills, while improving their composition and editing skills; strengthening students' modern research skills and instilling in them a deep love for knowledge
  4. Enhancing  students' abilities to interact with modern linguistic and literary theories, while enabling them to understand the relationships between different elements of the Arabic language
  5. Deepening students' sense of belonging to their religion and their land through strengthening their pride in the Arabic language and through making them understand the importance of protecting this language; highlighting the importance of adhering to work ethics and commitment to teamwork and community service

الرؤية
يتطلع قسم اللغة العربية وآدابها إلى النهوض باللغة العربية إلى المستوى الذي تستحقه بين لغات العالم ، وتخريج متخصصين في هذه اللغة على مستوى البكالوريوس والماجستير والدكتوراه ؛ لرفد المجتمع الإماراتي والعربي والعالمي ، وترسيخ المحصول العلمي لدى الطلاب ؛ ليتمكنوا من الإدراك العميق ، والنقد البنَّاء ، كما يتطلع القسم إلى طرح برنامج على مستوى البكالوريوس في تخصص (اللغة العربية والإعلام التطبيقي) ، وكذلك إنشاء مركز لتعليم اللغة العربية للناطقين بغيرها.
الرسالة
يسعى برنامج اللغة العربية وآدابها إلى تعميق الحب والولاء للغة العربية، لغة القرآن الكريم والتراث الأصيل، وإلى تخريج جيل معتز بهويته العربية والإسلامية، قادر على مجابهة تحديات العصر، ذي قدرة رفيعة في استعمال اللغة العربية  قراءة وكتابة وتكلما واستماعا، وثيق الصلة بمجتمعه، مؤهل لخدمته في ضوء أهداف الجامعة والكلية والقسم.
الأهداف
  1. إكساب الطلبة المعارف اللغوية والنحوية والصرفية، وكيفية فهمها وتطبيقها عملياً، وتنمية قدراتهم في مهارات اللغة العربية الأساسية (القراءة والكتابة والاستماع والتحدث) لتحقيق أهدافهم في العمل والحياة.
  2. تمكين الطلبة من التفكير الصحيح، والنقد والتحليل وتقوية إبداعاتهم اللغوية والأدبية، وتواصلهم مع موروث العرب.
  3. تزويد الطلبة بالعلوم البلاغية والأدبية والنقدية، وبوسائل تأليف النصوص العربية وتقويمها، وتمكينهم من أساليب البحث بأحدث الوسائل، وغرس حب المعرفة فيهم.
  4. صقل قدرات الطلاب للتفاعل مع النظريات اللغوية والأدبية الحديثة، وفهم العلاقة المتينة بين فروع اللغة العربية المتنوعة.
  5. تشجيع الطلبة على تعزيز روح الانتماء للدين والوطن، من خلال تعميق حب اللغة العربية في قلوبهم والدفاع عنها، والالتزام بأخلاقيات مهنتهم وبالعمل الجماعي وخدمة المجتمع.