Chair's Welcome

Welcome to the department of Family and Community Medicine and Behavioral Sciences. We pride ourselves on our Family Medicine, Community Health and Clinical skills training programs to train tomorrow's doctors to build healthier community through continuous, comprehensive, cost-effective, family-centered health care. ​

We use diverse learning modalities including clinical problem-based and Team-based learning, teaching and learning around the patients in health centers and in superb clinical skills laboratories as well as learning by doing community-based research projects.

Our dedicated faculty including over thirty adjunct faculties motivate students to be lifelong learners, to focus on health promotion as well as managing illness and to practice evidence-based health care.

Our department is actively involved in continuous professional development activities including frequent faculty development workshops on teaching and learning in ambulatory care, evidence-based health care, patient safety and other aspects of medical education.

The department research interest include chronic diseases especially diabetes and asthma, medical education and health promotion.


 

Nabil Sulaiman MB ChB, DCH, MPH, FFPHM, FRCP, PhD

Acting Head of Family and Community Medicine and Behavioral Sciences department

كلمة رئيس القسم
 مرحباً بكم في قسم طب الأسرة وصحة المجتمع والعلوم السلوكية. نحن فخورون ببرامج التدريب التي يطرحها قسمنا لتدريب أطباء الغد وبناء مجتمع سليم وذلك من خلال  تقديم رعاية صحية مستمرة وشاملة ومعتدلة الكلفة تتخذ العائلة محوراً لها.

 كما نستخدم طرائق تعليم مختلفة بما في ذلك التعلم السريري القائم على حل المشكلات ، والتعلم القائم على المجموعات ، والتعليم الذي يتمحور حول المرضى في المراكز الصحية بمهارة مختبرا سريرية عالية الجودة بالإضافة إلى تعلم كيفية القيام بمشاريع بحثية تتمحور حول المجتمع.

 وتتضمن هيئتنا التدريسية طاقماً متفانياً  يتكون من أكثر من ثلاثين عضو هيئة تدريسية مساعد ليحفزوا الطلبة على الاستمرار في طلبهم للعلم بالإضافة إلى التحكم بالأمراض وتقديم الرعاية الصحية  بناءً على الأدلة.

ويشارك قسمنا بشكل فاعل في العديد من أنشطة التطوير المهني من مثل ورشات العمل التي يقدمها أعضاء الهية التدريسية حول الرعاية الجوالة والرعاية الصحة المستندة إلى الأدلة وسلامة المرضى وغيرها من أوجه تعزيز الرعاية الصحية.
 
د. نبيل سليمان
قائم بأعمال رئيس قسم طب الأسرة وصحة المجتمع والعلوم السلوكية

​​​​​​​​