• Eid Mubarak

  • Admission for the Fall Semester 2017/2018

    More
  • Art History and Museum Studies Program

    More
  • Professional Diploma in Teaching

    More
  • Registration Instructions

    More
  • Sharjah 1st International Conference for Persons with Disabilities

    More
UOS Chancellor's Biography

Hamid M.K. Al-Naimiy
PhD Astrophysics, University of Manchester, UK

Chancellor, University of Sharjah, UAE
Professor of Space Astrophysics, UOS
University of Sharjah
Founder & President of the Arab Union for Astronomy and Space Sciences (AUASS),2004-till present.

Prior to his appointment as Chancellor of the University of Sharjah on 01-20-2014, Prof. Hamid Al-Naimiy served as Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs and Dean of the College of Sciences, UOS, UAE, from 2010-2015.

Also Prof. Al- Naimiy served as Acting Dean of the College of Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences  & Dean of the College of Sciences, UOS, UAE, from 2008-2010. and served as Dean of the College of Arts and Sciences , UOS, UAE,from 2006-2008.

Prior to occupying  different positions at the University of Sharjah, Prof. Al-Naimiy worked at different universities in the UAE and the Arab world :

  • Chairman of the Physics Department, UAE University, Al Ain, UAE, from 2001-2006
  • Dean / Institute of Astronomy and Space Science, Al al-Bayt University, Jordan, 1994-2001.
  • Chair / Physics Department /College of Science/ University of Baghdad/ 1990 - 1994
  • Director General /Astronomy and Space Science Center/Iraqi Council for Scientific Research/ President Office, 1980 - 1989.
  • Vice President of the Academic Iraqi Scientific Societies 1982- 1988.
  • General Secretary of Arab Union for physics & Mathematics 1984-1990.

    Prof. Al-Naimiy obtained the Bachelor of Science degree in Physics from The University of Baghdad; 1971. He graduated from Manchester University; UK with the Masters degree in Astronomy and Doctoral Degree in Astrophysics in 1975 and 1978 respectively. 

    Prof. Al-Naimiy is well known internationally for his contributions to teaching and research in the fields of Applied Physics, Astronomy and Space Sciences. He has won several regional and international awards in recognition of original research and for innovations that led to advancements in his field of specialization. Some of these awards are:
  • Khalifa Award for Education 2009/2010 (In the Field of Higher Education & Research).
  • Korea Astronomy & Space Science Institute Plaque, in recognition of his contribution to the 2009 UN/NASA/ESA/JAXA workshop on Basic Space Sciences and the International Heliophysical Year 2007, September 22nd , 2009. Daejeon/Korea.
  • NASA Plaque in Recognition of his contributions as the Coordinator for the Asian & Pacific region on IHY2007, for the period 2005 – 2009.
  • UN appreciation letter for scientists who displayed excellence in organizing the UN/ESA workshops. The 3rd UN/ESA/NASA workshop, Tokyo/Japan, 18th – 22nd, May, 2007.
  • Personality of the Week .The International Heliophysical Year IHY2007.In the occasion of the 50years anniversary for IGY, Launching​ the 1st world space rocket Sputnik. IHY International Committee, June 8th, 2007.
    http://ihy2007.org/newsroom/weekly_070612.shtml            
  • The Award for the best department chair, teacher and researcher for the year 2006 from UAE University.
  • Included in International Marquis Who's Who for the 21st century, 19th Edition, 2002.
  • The best scientific public media Publication Prize. The Iraqi Scientific Research Council 1987, Baghdad,  Iraq.
  • The best Scientific Researcher Prize. The Iraqi Scientific Research Council 1984, Baghdad, Iraq.

    Chancellor Alnaimy has published over 120 refereed journal papers, 32 books and more than 800 articles and supervised more than 30PhD and Masters graduate students to completion. Also he has more than 500 TV interviews to his name. He taught many different courses in Physics, Astrophysics and Space Sciences in many Universities (UK, Iraq, Jordan and UAE); chaired many Scientific organizing Committees for International and Regional conferences; attended more than 100 International and Regional Conferences and was the General Coordinator for the Developing Science Teaching Project for secondary school teachers 2009-2015.  Also he has extensive editorial experience in science related journals such as :-  Editor in Chief / Bin Al-Haitham Journal for Science and Technology / 2005 – 2006.;Member of Editorial Board / International Journal for Applied Physics / India 2004 - to date.; Editor in Chief / the Universe Magazine, Issues by the AUASS, 2005 - 2011.Editor in Chief / International Journal for scientific Research / Faculty of Science, United Arab Emirates University, 2001- 2006 and Editor in Chief / Science Magazine (مجلة علوم) / Iraq (1989 – 1994).

    Prof. Al-Naimiy is an active member in many International Societies and Organizations that deal with Astronomy and Space Sciences. Some of these societies are: The International Space Weather Initiative (ISWI) Organized by UN/ESA/NASA/JAXA , September 2009 – 2012( as UAE National coordinator),; UAE Representative for the IAY2009, Supervised and implemented by International Astronomical Union and UNESCO, 2009; Regional Coordinator and UAE representatives / IHY / NASA, 2005 – to date ; the Higher Council in the International Astronomy without Boarder Association 2004 – to date ; International Society of Searching for Intelligent life in the Universe 1981 - to date; International Astronomical Union 1980--- to date and the International Variable Stars Society 1980 - to date.

    Prof. Al-Naimiy has contributed in the establishment and building of many active projects related to Astronomy and Space Sciences; some of which are: Sharjah Astronomy Center for Astronomy and Space Sciences , 2013-2015 ;  Albayte Institute for Astronomy and Space Sciences; Ibn-AlShater Astronomy Park, Al-Albayte University, Jordan 1994-2001 .; Maragaha Observatory, Al-Albayte University , Jordan, 1995 .;  The Iraqi Astronomical Observatory , Korek Mountain , North Iraq , 1980 – 1990, which was​ the 10th largest Observatory in the world in that time.

• إحتـفـالات جـامعـة الشــــارقــة باليوم الوطني ٤٦

    المزيد
  • المؤتمر الإماراتي الألماني الخامس في الطب

    المزيد
  • انتخابات اللجنة التنفيذية لرابطة خريجي جامعة الشارقة

    المزيد
  • المؤتمر الدولي الثالث في تاريخ العلوم عند العرب والمسلمين

    المزيد
  • فترة القبول لفصل الربيع 2017/ 2018

    المزيد
  • تعليمات التسجيل - لفصل الربيع 2017-2018

    المزيد
  • ابتكارات علماء الشريعة في مناهج مؤلفاتهم

    المزيد
  • المنتدى الدولي الثالث للإبتكار وريادة الأعمال

    المزيد
  • مؤتمر الشارقة الدولي الأول لذوي الإعاقة

    المزيد
  • المؤتمر الدولي الأول لفروع جامعة الشارقة

    المزيد
السيرة الذاتية لمدير الجامعة
أ.د. حميد مجول النعيمي، دكتوراه في الفيزياء الفلكية (جامعة مانشستر، المملكة المتحدة)

مدير جامعة الشارقة، دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة
أستاذ فيزياء الفضاء الفلكية ، جامعة الشارقة
مؤسس ورئيس الاتحاد العربي لعلوم الفضاء والفلك منذ عام 2004 وحتى الآن.

قبل تعيينه مديراً لجامعة الشارقة بتاريخ 20/1/2014، شغل الأستاذ الدكتور حميد النعيمي منصب نائب مدير الجامعة للشؤون الأكاديمية وعميد كلية العلوم في جامعة الشارقة من 2010 – 2015. 

كما عمل الأستاذ الدكتور النعيمي قائماً بأعمال عميد كلية الآداب والعلوم الإنسانية والاجتماعية وعميد كلية العلوم في جامعة الشارقة لمدة سنتين من 2008 – 2010، وكان قد شغل منصب عميد كلية الآداب والعلوم في جامعة الشارقة خلال المدة من 2006 – 2008.

وقبل أن يشغل مناصب متعددة في جامعة الشارقة، شغل الأستاذ الدكتور النعيمي كثيراً من المناصب في جامعات مختلفة في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة والوطن العربي. ويمكن سردها على النحو الآتي:
  • رئيس قسم الفيزياء، جامعة الإمارات، العين، الإمارات العربية المتحدة، لمدة خمس سنوات من 2001 – 2006
  • عميد معهد علوم الفضاء والفلك،  جامعة آل البيت، الأردن 1994 – 2001.
  • رئيس قسم الفيزياء، كلية العلوم، جامعة بغداد 1990 – 1994.
  • مدير عام مركز أبحاث الفضاء والفلك – مجلس البحث العلمي العراقي، مكتب الرئاسة، 1980-1989.
  • نائب رئيس أكاديمية الجمعيات العلمية العراقية 1982 -1988 .
  • أمين عاما اتحاد الفيزيائيين و الرياضياتين العرب 1984-1990.

    حصل الأستاذ الدكتور النعيمي على درجة بكالوريوس العلوم في الفيزياء من جامعة بغداد عام 1971. وعلى درجتي الماجستير والدكتوراه  في الفيزياء الفلكية من جامعة مانشستر البريطانية في العامين 1975 و 1978 على التوالي. 

    يحظى الأستاذ الدكتور بسمعة على مستوى عالمي بفضل إسهاماته في التعليم والبحث العلمي في حقول الفيزياء التطبيقية وعلوم الفضاء والفلك. وقد نال العديد من الجوائز على المستويين الإقليمي والعالمي تقديراً لأبحاثه العلمية الأصيلة وابتكاراته التي أدت إلى تحقيق التقدم في مجال تخصصه. ومن هذه الجوائز:
  • جائزة خليفة التربوية 2009/2010 (في مجال التعليم العالي و البحث العلمي).
  • درع معهد علوم الفضاء والفلك في كوريا، تقديراً لإسهامه في ورشة عمل الأمم المتحدة ومنظمات الفضاء الأمريكية NASA والأوروبية ESA واليابانية JAXA حول علوم الفضاء الأساسية والعام الدولي للفيزياء الشمسية 2007، المنعقدة في دايجيون، كوريا في 22 سبتمبر 2009.
  • درع وكالة ناسا، تقديراً لإسهاماته كمنسق لمنطقة آسيا والباسيفيكي للعام الدولي للفيزياء الشمسية 2007، خلال المدة من 2005 – 2009.
  • خطاب شكر وتقدير من الأمم المتحدة باعتباره واحداً من أفضل العلماء الذين قدموا إسهامات متميزة في تنظيم ورش عمل منظمة الأمم المتحدة/ منظمة الفضاء الأوروبية. ورشة العمل الثالثة للأمم المتحدة/منظمة الفضاء الأوروبية/ وكالة الفضاء الأمريكية، والمنعقدة في طوكيو، اليابان، 18 – 22 مايو 2007.
  • شخصية الأسبوع في العام الدولي للفيزياء الشمسية 2007. بمناسبة الذكرى السنوية الخمسين للعام الدولي لفيزياء الأرض، مع إطلاق صاروخ الفضاء الأول في العالم (سبوتنك 1). اللجنة الدولية للعام الدولي للفيزياء الشمسية، 8 يونيو 2007.
  • جائزة أفضل رئيس قسم وأفضل مدرس وباحث للعام 2006 من جامعة الإمارات العربية المتحدة.
  • اختير ضمن موسوعة ماركوس الدولية ( Who's Who  ) الطبعة التاسعة عشرة ، 2002 ، الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية .
  • جائزة الإعلام العلمي، مجلس البحث العلمي العراقي 1987، بغداد، العراق.
  • جائزة أفضل باحث علمي، مجلس البحث العلمي العراقي 1984، بغداد، العراق.

    للأستاذ الدكتور النعيمي أكثر من 120 بحثاً منشوراً في مجلات علمية محكمة، و 32 كتاباً وأكثر من 800 مقالٍ علمي. وقد أشرف على أكثر من 30 طالب دكتوراه وماجستير. وله أكثر من 500 لقاء تلفزيوني. وقام بتدريس العديد من المساقات في الفيزياء والفيزياء الفلكية وعلوم الفضاء في عدة جامعات في بريطانيا والعراق والأردن والإمارات العربية المتحدة. وترأس الكثير من اللجان التنظيمية العلمية لمؤتمرات دولية وإقليمية، وحضر أكثر من 100 مؤتمر دولي وإقليمي، كما شغل منصب المنسق العام لمشروع تطوير تدريس العلوم لمعلمي المدارس الثانوية 2009 – 2015. كما يتمتع بخبرة كبيرة في مجال تحرير المجلات العلمية، فعمل رئيساً لتحرير مجلة ابن الهيثم للعلوم والتكنولوجيا 2005 – 2006، وعضو هيئة تحرير المجلة الدولية لأبحاث الفيزياء التطبيقية، الهند، 2004- لحد الآن، ورئيس تحرير مجلة الكون، وتصدر عن الاتحاد العربي لعلوم الفضاء والفلك، 2005 – 2011، ورئيس تحرير المجلة الدولية للأبحاث العلمية، كلية العلوم، جامعة الإمارات العربية المتحدة، 2001 – 2006، ورئيس تحرير مجلة علوم، العراق، 1989 – 1994.

    يتمتع الأستاذ الدكتور حميد النعيمي بعضوية فعالة في العديد من الاتحادات والمنظمات الدولية في مجال علوم الفضاء والفلك، ومنها: المبادرة العالمية لطقس الفضاء، بتنظيم من الأمم المتحدة ومنظمات الفضاء الأمريكية NASA والأوروبية ESA واليابانية JAXA في الفترة من سبتمبر 2009-  2012 (باعتباره المنسق الوطني لدولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة)، مندوب دولة الإمارات في IAY2009، بإشراف وتنفيذ الاتحاد الفلكي الدولي ومنظمة اليونسكو، 2009؛ والمنسق الإقليمي ومندوب دولة الإمارات في العام الدولي لفيزياء الشمس، وكالة الفضاء الأمريكية ناسا، 2005 إلى الآن؛ وعضو المجلس الأعلى في الاتحاد الدولي لعلم الفلك بلا حدود، من 2004 إلى الآن؛ وعضو الجمعية العالمية للبحث عن الحياة في الكون 1980 إلى الآن؛ وعضو الاتحاد الفلكي الدولي من 1980 إلى الآن، وعضو الجمعية العالمية للنجوم المتغيرة من 1980 إلى الآن.
 
شارك و ساهم الأستاذ الدكتور النعيمي في تأسيس و بناء العديد من المشاريع الفعالة ذات الصلة بعلوم الفضاء والفلك، ومنها: مركز الشارقة لعلوم الفضاء والفلك، 2013 – 2015؛ حديقة معهد الفلك و علوم الفضاء ( إبن الشاطر الفلكية) بجامعة آل البيت، الأردن 1994 – 2001 ؛ مرصد مراغة الفلكي في جامعة آل البيت، الأردن، 1995؛ المرصد الفلكي البصري العراقي، جبل كورك، شمال العراق للمدة 1980 – 1990 ( أحد أكبر عشرة مراصد في العالم في حينه ).