About the UAE

UAE: a constitutional federation of seven emirates 

United Arab Emirates consists of seven emirates: Abu Dhabi, Dubai, Sharjah, Ras Al Khaimah, Ajman, Umm Al Quwain and Fujairah. Four-fifths of the UAE is desert but has contrasting landscapes—from the towering red dunes of the Liwa to the rich palm-filled Oasis of Al Ain, from the precipitous Hajjar Mountains to the more fertile stretches of its coastal plains. 

Though small in size , UAE has become an important player in regional and international affairs. In 1971, the late President Sheikh Zayed bin Sultan Al Nahyan unified the small, underdeveloped states into a federation—the only one in the Arab world. With his visionary leadership, oil wealth was used to develop UAE into one of the world's most open and successful economies.

In 2004, His Highness Sheikh Khalifa bin Zayed Al Nahyan became the President and has since continued to strive towards an ambitious vision for UAE. 

 

Quick facts

National Day:

2 December (The UAE was establised on 2 December, 1971)

Founder:

The late Sheikh Zayed bin Sultan Al Nahyan

President:

H. H. Sheikh Khalifa bin Zayed Al Nahyan (Ruler of Abu Dhabi)

Vice President and Prime Minister:

H. H. Sheikh Mohamed bin Rashid Al Maktoum (Ruler of Dubai)

Area:

83,600 Sq. km. ; Abu Dhabi accounts for 87% of the country's total landmass.

Location:

Bordered to the North by the Arabian Gulf, to the East by the Gulf of Oman and Sultanate of Oman, to the South by Saudi Arabia and Sultanate of Oman and to the West by Qatar and Saudi Arabia.

Climate:

Arid desert, cooler in the eastern mountains. (Winter: warm & sunny / Summer: hot and humid). The average annual rainfall in the coastal area is fewer than 120 mm (4.7 in), but in some mountainous areas annual rainfall often reaches 350 mm (13.8 in) where it is also generally cooler.

Population:

8.19 million.

Capital:

Abu Dhabi

Monetary unit:

UAE Dirham 1AED = 100 Fills

Exchange rate:

1 USD = AED 3.67 (Pegged to the US Dollar)

Weekend:

Friday and Saturday

Official language:

Arabic

Other languages:

English, Farsi, Hindi, Urdu

Religion:

Islam (Practice of other religious beliefs is allowed)

Time:

GMT +4 (Daylight Saving Time +3)

International dialing code:

+971

 Internet domain:

.ae

About Sharjah

About Sharjah

Sharjah is the third largest emirate in the United Arab Emirates and is the only emirate which overlooks two seas, the Arabian Gulf and the Gulf of Oman. Sharjah is characterized by its inviting heritage and historical monuments which refer to its development and originality throughout the ages. It includes several major cities, including the cities of Al Dhaid and the three East Coast City Khorefkan, Kalba and Dibba Al Hisn. It won the 1998 title of the Capital of Arab Culture by UNESCO. And also it won the title of Capital of Islamic Culture for 2014.

Sharjah is associated with a name in the fields of thought and knowledge, on behalf of its ruler and patron of His Highness Sheikh Dr. Sultan bin Mohammed Al Qasimi, Supreme Council Member and Ruler of Sharjah, who devoted his life and his efforts to enrich the cultural and cognitive life. He gave his instructions in 1997 to establish the University City, which has more than fifteen academic institutions that contribute to the consolidation of higher education and scientific research concepts, which enhances its leading role in the region.

Sharjah holds each year many cultural events, namely, the days of Sharjah heritage, Sharjah Theatre Days, Sharjah Prize of the Holy Quran and the Sunnah, Exhibition of Sharjah International Book Fair, Sharjah Children's Book Exhibition, Sharjah School Theater Festival , Emirates University Theatre Festival, Sharjah Islamic Festival of Art and Sharjah Light Festival.

عن دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة

تتألف دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة من سبع إمارات، وهي: أبو ظبي ودبي والشارقة وعجمان وأم القيوين ورأس الخيمة والفجيرة. وتغطي الصحراء أربعة أخماس مساحة دولة الإمارات لكنها مع ذلك تتميز بمناظر طبيعية متباينة ومتنوعة من الكثبان الرملية الحمراء الشاهقة في ليوا إلى مدينة العين التي تعد واحة طبيعية تزينها أشجار النخيل، ومن جبال الحجر شديدة الانحدار إلى المساحات الخصبة من السهول الساحلية المنبسطة.

وعلى الرغم من صغر مساحتها، أصبحت دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة لاعباً محورياً مؤثراً في الشؤون الإقليمية والدولية.

وفي عام 1971م، وحّد المغفور له بإذن الله، الشيخ زايد بن سلطان آل نهيان، من خلال رؤيته القيادية الثاقبة، الإمارات السبع الصغيرة والناشئة مؤسساً دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة، الذي تعتبر الاتحاد الوحيد في الوطن العربي. واستثمرت ثروة النفط لتطوير الإمارات وتنمية اقتصاد يعد اليوم من بين الأكثر انفتاحاً ونجاحاً على المستوى العالمي.

وفي عام 2004، أصبح الشيخ خليفة بن زايد آل نهيان رئيساً لدولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة واستمر قدماً في مسيرة التطور والنجاح التي ارتآها القائد من أجل تحقيق رؤية الدولة الحكيمة والطموحة.

 

حقائق موجزة

النظام السياسي

دولة اتحادية دستورية (أبو ظبي، دبي، الشارقة، عجمان، أم القيوين، رأس الخيمة والفجيرة).

 اليوم الوطني

2 ديسمبر  1971

 المؤسس

المغفور له بإذن الله الشيخ زايد بن سلطان آل نهيان.

 الرئيس

صاحب السمو الشيخ خليفة بن زايد آل نهيان رئيس الدولة (حاكم أبوظبي)

 نائب رئيس الدولة ورئيس مجلس الوزراء

صاحب السمو الشيخ محمد بن راشد آل مكتوم (حاكم دبي)

المساحة

83,600 كلم مربع، تشكل أبوظبي 87٪ من إجمالي مساحة الدولة.

 الموقع

يحدها من الشمال الخليج العربي، ومن الشرق خليج عمان وسلطنة عمان ومن الجنوب المملكة العربية السعودية وسلطنة عمان ومن الغرب قطر والمملكة العربية السعودية.

  الإحداثيات الجغرافية

تقع دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة بين خطي العرض 22 – 25.5 ° شمالاً وخطي الطول 51 و 56.5 °  شرقاً

 المناخ

تتمتع الإمارات بمناخ صحراوي جاف يزداد برودة في الجبال الشرقية. (فصل الشتاء: دافئ ومشمس / الصيف: حار ورطب). لا يتجاوز المتوسط السنوي للأمطار في المنطقة الساحلية  120 ملم (4.7 بوصة)، ولكن في بعض المناطق الجبلية يصل المعدل السنوي لهطول الأمطار في كثير من الأحيان إلى 350 ملم (13.8 بوصة) حيث المناخ أكثر برودة بشكل عام.

  عدد السكان

8.19 مليون نسمة.

 العاصمة

أبوظبي

 الوحدة النقدية

الدرهم الإماراتي = 100 فلس

 سعر الصرف

الدولار الأمريكي يعادل 3.67 درهم. (يرتبط الدرهم الإماراتي رسمياً بالدولار).

 عطلة نهاية الأسبوع

الجمعة والسبت

 اللغة الرسمية

العربية

 لغات أخرى

اللغة الانجليزية، الفارسية، الهندية، الأردية

 الدين

الإسلام (يسمح بممارسة المعتقدات الدينية الأخرى)

 التوقيت

+4 ساعات من توقيت جرينيتش   (خلال فترة التوقيت الصيفي + 3 ساعات)

 رمز الاتصال الدولي

+971

 النطاق الوطني على الإنترنت

.ae

عن الشارقة

تعدّ الشارقة ثالث أكبر إمارة في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة، وهي الإمارة الوحيدة التي تمتاز بشواطئ على جانبيها من جهة ساحل الخليج العربي وخليج عمان. تمتاز بأجوائها التراثية، ومعالمها التاريخية التي تعتبر شاهداً على نهضتها وعراقتها على مر العصور. وتضم مدناً رئيسية عديدة منها مدينة الذيد ومدن الساحل الشرقي الثلاث خورفكان، كلباء، ودبا الحصن. نالت عام 1998 لقب عاصمة الثقافة العربية من قبل اليونسكو، كما نالت لقب عاصمة الثقافة الإسلامية لعام 2014.

يقترن اسم الشارقة في ميادين الفكر والمعرفة، باسم حاكمها وراعيها صاحب السمو الشيخ الدكتور سلطان بن محمد القاسمي عضو المجلس الأعلى حاكم الشارقة، الذي كرس حياته وجهوده لإغناء الحياة الثقافية والمعرفية. حيث أمر سموه في عام 1997 بإنشاء المدينة الجامعية، والتي تضم أكثر من خمس عشرة مؤسسة أكاديمية، تساهم في ترسيخ مفاهيم التعليم العالي والبحث العلمي، مما يعزز دورها الريادي في المنطقة.

وتقيم الشارقة في كل عام فعاليات ثقافية عديدة، كأيام الشارقة التراثية، وأيام الشارقة المسرحية، وجائزة الشارقة للقرآن الكريم والسنة النبوية، ومعرض الشارقة الدولي للكتاب، ومعرض الشارقة لكتاب الطفل، ومهرجان الشارقة للمسرح المدرسي، ومهرجان الإمارات للمسرح الجامعي، ومهرجان الشارقة للفنون الإسلامية، ومهرجان أضواء الشارقة.